Women's Hoop Slate Announced

West Virginia University and the Big East Conference today announced the 2008-09 Mountaineer women's basketball schedule.

"We're very excited about the upcoming season," WVU Head Coach Mike Carey said. "We have a young team and being able to play so many non-conference games at home should give us a chance to gain some much-needed experience as we head towards conference play. The conference schedule is tough, as it always is. The Big East will be a very strong conference once again this season because there are no easy games in league play."

The 2008-09 slate features 16 home contests at the WVU Coliseum for the Mountaineers, including eight Big East games. The schedule also features 14 opponents that qualified for postseason play last year, including eight NCAA tournament teams.

Big East foes coming to the Coliseum this year are Cincinnati, Connecticut, St. John's, Seton Hall, Providence, USF, Pitt and Syracuse. WVU's lone home-and-home opponent this season is once again Pitt. Conference road games will be at Pitt, Villanova, Rutgers, DePaul, Louisville, Marquette, Georgetown and Notre Dame.

Non-conference action his highlighted by visits from WNIT participants Indiana and Iona, and trips to Fresno State, an NCAA tournament participant from a year ago, Santa Clara and Maine.

Times and television appearances will be announced at a later date.

2008-09 WVU Women's Basketball Schedule

Fri. Nov. 14 NORTH CAROLINA CENTRAL
Sun. Nov. 16 IONA
Tue. Nov. 18 NORTHEASTERN
Sat. Nov. 22 FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL
Fri. Nov. 28 vs. New Jersey Tech#
Sat. Nov. 29 vs. Maine/Brown#
Wed. Dec. 3 MERCYHURST
Sun. Dec. 7 DUQUESNE
Sat. Dec. 13 INDIANA
Sat. Dec. 20 at Fresno State
Mon. Dec. 22 at Santa Clara
Tue. Dec. 30 LONGWOOD
Sun. Jan. 4 at Pitt
Wed. Jan. 7 CINCINNATI
Sat. Jan. 10 CONNECTICUT
Wed. Jan. 14 vs. Marshall$
Sat. Jan. 17 at Villanova
Tue. Jan. 20 at Rutgers
Sat. Jan. 24 ST. JOHN'S
Tue. Jan. 27 SETON HALL
Sat. Jan. 31 at DePaul

Sat. Feb. 7 at Louisville
Tue. Feb. 10 PROVIDENCE
Sun. Feb. 15 at Marquette
Wed. Feb. 18 at Georgetown
Sat. Feb. 21 USF
Tue. Feb. 24 PITT
Sat. Feb. 28 SYRACUSE
Mon. Mar. 2 at Notre Dame
Mar. 6-10 BIG EAST Championship

# Maine Tournament
$ Charleston Civic Center, Charleston, W.Va.


BlueGoldNews Top Stories