WVU Football Awards

The Mountaineer football team season award winners were announced at Saturday's football banquet.

WVU's team captains for the season, and the players that will serve in that capacity for the bowl game, are Avon Cobourne, James Davis, David Upchurch and Lance Nimmo.

The other award winners included:

Ira E. Rodgers Award: Lance Nimmo

John Russell Memorial Award: Ken Sandor, David Upchurch

Whitey Gwynne Memorial Award: Tim Love, Lance Frazier, Derrick Smith

Gridiron Gladiator Award: Zach Dillow, Angel Estrada, Ben Collins

Scott Shirley Special Teams Player of the Year Award: James Davis

Ideal Mountaineer Award: Quincy Wilson, Rasheed Marshall, Brian King, Grant Wiley

Danny Van Etten Rookie of the Year: Offense - Dan Mozes, Bryan Wright, Jason Colson; Defense - Jay Henry and Craig Wilson

Coaches Contribution Award: Phil Braxton, Jermaine Thaxton, A.J. Nastasi, Jason Davis.

Mountaineers Daily Top Stories