Seven Make NFF Honor Society

Continuing its strong tradition of academic success, West Virginia University placed seven players on the 2009 National Football Foundation's Hampshire Honor Society.

Graduating seniors Tito Gonzales, Adam Hughes, Dorrell Jalloh, Pat Liebig, Doug Slavonic and Ryan Stanchek, along with rising senior Reed Williams, were named to the society, which is made up of a total of 564 players from all divisions of play. West Virginia, with seven total selections, far outpaced all other Big East conference schools.

To qualify for the society, players had to maintain a 3.2 GPA or better, be a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university, and meet all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.

BlueGoldNews Top Stories