Ebanks Adds National Award

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected West Virginia forward Devin Ebanks as its Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week for games ending the week of Sunday, Dec. 27.

The USBWA's weekly honor is presented by Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook and will be handed out each Tuesday through Feb. 23 this season.

As the Big East Conference Player of the Week, Devin Ebanks was nominated for the weekly award, which was chosen by a representative of the USBWA board of directors from a list of Division I conference players of the week.

Ebanks, a 6-9 sophomore from Long Island City, N.Y., ended the week with a career-high 22 points to go along with 17 rebounds in a 90-84 overtime win at Seton Hall in West Virginia's conference opener on Saturday. Earlier in the week, he scored 14 points and grabbed 13 rebounds in leading the Mountaineers past No. 15 Ole Miss, 76-66.

This is the first season that the USBWA has selected a national player of the week. The weekly Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week is added to the Oscar Robertson Trophy watch list, which will be released at mid-season.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

At the conclusion of the regular season, the USBWA will name finalists for the award, which is voted on by the entire membership of the USBWA. The winner of the 2010 Oscar Robertson Trophy will be announced and presented by its namesake, Oscar Robertson, at the USBWA's annual awards breakfast on Fri., April 5 in Indianapolis, site of the 2010 NCAA Men's Final Four.

BlueGoldNews Top Stories