Final Four Star Power

Who says the Final Four is lacking in stars? Two participants are members of the 10-player John R. Wooden Award All American Team.

West Virginia's Da'Sean Butler continued to add to his trophy case with his selection to the Wooden Team on Thursday.

No players return from last year's All-American team. This year's squad features two players who will play in this week's Final Four, West Virginia's Da'Sean Butler (17.4 ppg, 6.3 rpg) and Jon Scheyer (18.6 ppg) of Duke. Kentucky's John Wall and DeMarcus Cousins are the only freshmen and only teammates on the Wooden All-American team; they finished their seasons in the Elite Eight, Wall averaging 16.6 points and 6.4 assists and Cousins 15.1 points and 9.8 rebounds per game.

The 2010 John R. Wooden Award All-American team also includes Oklahoma State's James Anderson, (22.9 ppg) the Big 12 Player of the Year; Sherron Collins of Kansas (15.5 ppg, 4.5 ast); Wesley Johnson of Syracuse (16.0 ppg, 8.4 assists); Villanova's Scottie Reynolds (18.5 ppg), the Big East Player of the Year; Ohio State's Evan Turner (20.3 ppg, 9.2 rpg), the Big 10 Player of the Year; and Greivis Vasquez of Maryland (19.3 ppg), the ACC Player of the Year.

Balloting by members of the media and college basketball experts was conducted over the past three weeks. Voters selected 10 players from the 26 athletes listed on the ballot, and ranked them from 1 to 10. Voters were asked to take into account performance during the regular season and postseason through the Elite Eight, as well as a player's character and academic performance, essential components of an outstanding player. All players on the ballot were certified by their schools as maintaining a 2.0 GPA at their current school.

"We feel tremendously proud to have these student athletes representing the 2010 John R. Wooden Award All American Team, in such an outstanding year for college basketball," said Steve Hathaway, president of The Los Angeles Athletic Club, speaking on behalf of hospitalized John R. Wooden Award Chairman and Founder Richard "Duke" Llewellyn.

The 34th John R. Wooden Award Presentation Gala will be held at 6:30 p.m. on April 9 at The Los Angeles Athletic Club, 431 W. Seventh Street in Los Angeles. The top five vote-getters will be invited to the presentation.

The winners will receive a contribution from The Los Angeles Athletic Club for their university's general scholarship fund.

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA.

BlueGoldNews Top Stories