Lindamood Continues Nickolich Tradition

The Blue & Gold News is proud to announce this year's winner of the Tommy Nickolich Award, presented annually to the football walk-on who has distinguished himself with attitude and effort.

Matt Lindamood, a sophomore fullback from Parkersburg, W. Va., has made his mark at the position this spring, and capped an excellent set of drills by being named the Nickolich Award winner for 2010.

He began his WVU career in 2008 as a member of the scout team, where he earned offensive player of the week honors and set a shining example with his work ethic and dedication. He then moved into a special teams role in 2009, recording five tackles on kick coverage teams. will have more from Lindamood after the game.

The Blue & Gold News is proud to present the Tommy Nickolich Award to the walk-on member of the Mountaineer football team who has distinguished himself with his attitude and effort. Following is a list of the past award winners.

1991 Keith Taparausky RB
1992 Ray Wilcox LB
1993 Matt McCulty WR
1994 Randy Fulmore DB
1995 Rob Keys DB
1996 Matt Ceresa OL
1997 David Lightcap DB
1998 Mark Corman TE
1999 Bryan Lorenz TE
2000 Ben Collins DB
2001 Jeremy Knapp TE
2002 Moe Fofana FB
2003 John Pennington WR
2004 Jeff Noechel LB
2005 George Shehl H
2006 Tim Lindsey LS
2007 Andy Emery LS
2008 Josh Taylor DL

Mountaineers Daily Top Stories