Badgers Name Four Captains

On the eve of the Spring Game, Wisconsin named four captains for the 2003 season.

The Wisconsin football program has named three seniors and a junior to be team captains for the 2003 season, head coach Barry Alvarez announced.

Quarterback Jim Sorgi, wide receiver Lee Evans, linebacker Jeff Mack (all seniors) and junior defensive back Jim Leonhard were named team captains for the upcoming season in a vote by their teammates.

Sorgi (Fraser, Mich.), a backup for three years, enters the 2003 campaign as the starter at quarterback. Evans (Bedford, Ohio) will return for his senior season after sitting out the 2002 campaign with a knee injury. Evans was a first-team All-American as a junior. Mack (Madison, Wis.), the defensive MVP of the 2002 Alamo Bowl, has 25 career starts and more career tackles (161) than any other current Badger. Leonhard (Tony, Wis.) led the nation in interceptions with a Big Ten record-tying 11 on his way to first-team All-America honors as a walk-on sophomore last season.

Wisconsin opens the 2003 season at West Virginia on August 30. The home opener is Sept. 6 against Akron.

Badger Nation Top Stories