Wilson Put on Watch

He hasn't played a down yet for the University of Wisconsin, but Russell Wilson has already found himself in some impressive company.

Badgers fans have another reason to get excited over recent transfer quarterback Russell Wilson. On Friday, Wilson was named to the preseason watch list for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, the accolade given to college football's best quarterback as voted on by the O'Brien National Selection Committee.

Russell Wilson, who led the ACC in total offense last season (307.5 ypg.) as a member of the North Carolina State Wolfpack, made the decision to transfer to Wisconsin on June 28. Wilson has one year of eligibility remaining.

The 2011 preseason watch list includes 38 of the nation's top quarterbacks, including favorites Andrew Luck (Stanford), Kellen Moore (Boise State) and Case Kennum (Houston). The Big Ten Conference is also represented by Kirk Cousins (Michigan State), Dan Persa (Northwestern), Denard Robinson (Michigan), Taylor Martinez (Nebraska) and Nathan Scheelhaase (Illinois).

Throughout the season, the field of finalists will be narrowed down, with the winner of the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award being announced Thursday, December 8 during the Home Depot College Football Awards.

Badger Nation Top Stories