Dayne Gets College Football's Highest Honor

One of the greatest running backs to ever play college football, Heisman Trophy winner Ron Dayne became the ninth former Wisconsin player - 13th overall - to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Join the Badger conversation on Facebook! Go to our Facebook page and "like" us!

For more Badger sports news, notes and discussion, especially on game day, follow Badger Nation on Twitter @TheBadgerNation

The player whose name synonymous with the tradition of the University of Wisconsin has another title to add to his resume.

More than 13 years after running to the top of the NCAA career rushing list, former Wisconsin running back Ron Dayne was announced Tuesday that he will inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2013.

"I'm very excited and thrilled to be mentioned with the greatest names in college football history," Dayne said in a statement. "This is a tremendous honor for me and the university. As with everything in my career, I see this as a team honor and something I never could have achieved without my teammates and coaches."

Dayne, from Berlin, N.J., is one of 12 players and two coaches set to be inducted into the Hall of Fame on Dec. 10 in New York City.

The ninth former Wisconsin player to be elected to the Hall of Fame, Dayne finished his career as college football's all-time leading rusher. The official NCAA record book credits him with 6,397 career rushing yards, most in FBS history. Including bowl games, Dayne rushed for 7,125 total yards and 71 touchdowns during his career.

As a senior, Dayne became the second player in Badgers' history to win the Heisman Trophy, racking up 2,034 rushing yards and scoring 20 touchdowns. That year he also won the Maxwell Award, Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, Doak Walker Award, Chicago Tribune Silver Football and was a unanimous, consensus first-team All-American.

Dayne helped lead UW to back-to-back Big Ten titles and Rose Bowl championships in 1998 and 1999. A member of the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame, he is one of just four players to ever be named MVP of "The Grandaddy of Them All" twice.

Dayne burst onto the college football scene as a freshman, running for a then-FBS record 1,863 yards in the regular season (Adrian Peterson broke the record with 1,925 yards as a freshman in 2004). Dayne added 246 yards and Copper Bowl MVP honors to finish the season with 2,109 yards despite not starting the first four games of the season.

As a sophomore, Dayne was a finalist for the Doak Walker Award and a first-team All-American from College Football News. Despite missing two full games and parts of two others, he still ranked fifth nationally with an average of 142.0 rushing yards per game (1,457 total yards).

Dayne was again a finalist for the Doak Walker Award as a junior, leading the Big Ten in rushing and earning Walter Camp first-team All-America honors. He led the Badgers' upset of No. 6 UCLA in the 1999 Rose Bowl, rushing for 246 yards and earning game MVP honors. That game also set the stage for his Heisman Trophy campaign the following season.

"In my opinion, Ron was simply the most dominant running back that ever played college football," said Dayne's former coach, current Wisconsin Director of Athletics and 2010 Hall of Fame inductee Barry Alvarez in a statement. "If the rules back then were the same as they are now, with bowl games counting towards his career rushing total, no one would even come close to touching his record. We've had a lot of great players come through here but when people think of Wisconsin football, they think of Ron Dayne running the football."

Dayne's No. 33 was officially retired by Wisconsin in 2007. He was elected to the UW Athletics Hall of Fame in 2009.

Dayne is the third UW running back in the Hall of Fall and second Heisman Trophy winner, joining 1954 winner Alan Ameche.

The other members of the Class of 2013 are: North Carolina State running back Ted Brown, Arizona defensive end Teddy Bruschi, Nebraska quarterback Tommie Frazier, Texas defensive back Jerry Gray, Kentucky end Steve Meilinger, Ohio State offensive lineman Orlando Pace, Oklahoma linebacker Rod Shoate, Michigan State linebacker Percy Snow, Baylor quarterback Don Trull, Florida quarterback Danny Wuerffel, Miami quarterback Vinny Testaverde, Navy coach Wayne Hardin and Colorado coach Bill McCartney.

To qualify for the Hall of Fame, a player must have been a first-team All-American, have played within the last 50 years and be retired from professional football. Of the roughly 4.92 million players to have played college football since its inception in 1869, just 930 players and 202 coaches have been elected to the Hall of Fame — roughly two ten-thousandths of a percent.

Other Badgers in the College Football Hall of Fame

• Barry Alvarez, Coach, Class of 2010

• Alan Ameche, RB, Class of 1975

• Marty Below, OL, Class of 1988

• Robert Butler, OL, Class of 1972

• Ron Dayne, RB, Class of 2013

• Pat Harder, FB, Class of 1993

• Elroy "Crazylegs" Hirsch, RB, Class of 1974

• Phil King, Coach, Class of 1962

• George Little, Coach, Class of 1962

• Pat O'Dea, P, Class of 1962

• Pat Richter, WR, Class of 1996

• Dave Schreiner, End, Class of 1955

• Harry Stuhldreher, Coach, Class of 1958

Badger Nation Top Stories