Gordon Named B1G's Best Offensive PLayer

In what is expected to be the first of many awards for Wisconsin's junior tailback, Melvin Gordon was named a consensus first-team All-Big Ten player, the conference's running back of the year and the conference's offense player of the year.

MADISON – Capping a historic regular season, Wisconsin junior running back Melvin Gordon was honored by the Big Ten on Monday night when the league announced its end of the season awards. Gordon was chosen as the Ameche-Dayne Big Ten Running Back of the Year and was a consensus first-team All-Big Ten selection.

On Tuesday, Gordon was announced as the 2014 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year. It is the third time in the last six years that a Badger running back has earned conference offensive player of the year honors. The previous two were John Clay (2009) and Montee Ball (2011). Gordon is the 10th UW player to earn Big Ten Player of the Year honors, joining Troy Vincent (1991 – defense), Brent Moss (1993 – offense), Tom Burke (1998 – defense), Ron Dayne (1999 – offense), Jamar Fletcher (2000 – defense), Erasmus James (2004 – defense), Clay, Ball and Chris Borland (2013 – defense).

It’s the third time in the four-year history of the Ameche-Dayne Award that a Wisconsin running back has earned the trophy symbolizing the top back in the Big Ten. Montee Ball won the award in 2011 and 2012. Interestingly enough, Gordon and Ameche share a hometown as both grew up in Kenosha, Wis.

This is the 11th time in the last 22 years (dating back to 1993) that a UW running back has earned first-team All-Big Ten honors.

Gordon broke the Big Ten single-season rushing record and has 2,260 yards on the season. That is good for fourth place in FBS history. He has also scored 29 touchdowns this year, trailing only Ball (39 in 2011) on the Big Ten single-season list. Gordon’s 1,648 rushing yards and 206.0 rushing yards per game during conference play were also Big Ten records.

Gordon was one of 14 Badgers honored by the conference, as four players garnered first-team all-league recognition. In addition to Gordon, offensive linemen Kyle Costigan and Rob Havenstein were first-team All-Big Ten choices by both the coaches and media. Senior linebacker Derek Landisch earned first-team honors from the coaches and second-team laurels from the media.

Wisconsin has had at least three first-team All-Big Ten selections every season since 2009.

Four more Badgers earned second-team honors. Junior safety Michael Caputo was a consensus selection with junior cornerback Darius Hillary earning the nod from the coaches. Sophomore center Dan Voltz and sophomore linebacker Vince Biegel were both second-team choices by the media.

UW had six players earn honorable mention distinction. Freshman kicker Rafael Gaglianone, senior guard Dallas Lewallen, junior tackle Tyler Marz, junior linebacker Joe Schobert and senior linebacker Marcus Trotter were chosen by both the coaches and media. Senior tight end Sam Arneson was an honorable mention selection by the media.

All five of Wisconsin’s starting offensive linemen were honored as were all four of the Badgers’ starting linebackers.

All-Big Ten honorees

Melvin Gordon – Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year / first-team All-Big Ten (coaches & media)

Kyle Costigan – First-team All-Big Ten (coaches & media)

Rob Havenstein – First-team All-Big Ten (coaches & media) / Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree

Derek Landisch – First-team All-Big Ten (coaches) / second-team All-Big Ten (media)

Michael Caputo – Second-team All-Big Ten (coaches & media)

Darius Hillary – Second-team All-Big Ten (coaches) / honorable mention All-Big Ten (media)

Dan Voltz – Second-team All-Big Ten (media) / honorable mention All-Big Ten (coaches)

Vince Biegel – Second-team All-Big Ten (media) / honorable mention All-Big Ten (coaches)

Rafael Gaglianone – honorable mention All-Big Ten (coaches & media)

Dallas Lewallen – honorable mention All-Big Ten (coaches & media)

Tyler Marz – honorable mention All-Big Ten (coaches & media)

Joe Schobert – honorable mention All-Big Ten (coaches & media)

Marcus Trotter – honorable mention All-Big Ten (coaches & media)

Sam Arneson – honorable mention All-Big Ten (media)

Badger Nation Top Stories