Ten years, no more

Badgers earn first win over Michigan in 10 years, continue nation's longest unbeaten streak


Wisconsin continued its unbeaten streak with a 3-1 win against host Michigan (5-4-0 CCHA, 9-4-0 overall) in the College Hockey Showcase Friday night.

Wisconsin (3-2-3 WCHA, 7-3-3 overall), which has now gone nine consecutive games without a loss, earned its first win against the Wolverines in 10 years.

Senior defenseman Dan Boeser tallied his third goal this season off a deflected pass from freshman forward Robbie Earl late in the first period. Michigan, though, scored the equalizer just before the second period ended on a goal from junior forward Jason Ryznar.

The tie looked familiar to Wisconsin, which has tied three of its last five games. Sophomore forward Ryan MacMurchy pointed the game in a different direction after UW went on a power play. He took the puck from freshman forward Andrew Joudrey and shot it from the right post across the crease into the net. Freshman defender Jeff Likens was credited with the assist on MacMurchy's eighth goal in 13 games. UW protected its 2-1 lead while Michigan pulled sophomore goaltender Al Montoya for the man advantage. Senior forward Rene Bourque took the opportunity to score within the last minute to give Wisconsin a secure win over the Wolverines.

In net, junior goalie Bernd Brückler and Montoya each had 23 saves.

In other men's hockey news…

Men's hockey coach Mike Eaves announced that Mark LeRose will replace John Hynes as an assistant coach until April 30, 2004. Hynes recently left the team to coach the United States Hockey's National Team Development Program. Prior to his appointment, LeRose worked as the coaching director for the junior hockey program in Aspen, Colo., as well as the high school skiing coach. LeRose also served as a coaching staff assistant for the Pittsburgh Penguins and a coach at the United States Hockey's Select-15 Olympic Festival.   

This week four freshmen Badgers made the NHL's Central Scouting 2003-04 preliminary ranking of college players in the United States.  Forwards Jake Dowell (12th), Robbie Earl (13th), Mark Heatley (29th) and defenseman Jeff Likens (18th) were all selected to the list.

Score by period

Wisconsin10 2 3
Michigan01 0 1

Shots on goal by period

Wisconsin514 7 26
Michigan128 4 24

Scoring Summary

First Period

UW 1: Dan Boeser (3) from Robbie Earl (3) at 17:47.

Second Period

UM 1: Jason Ryznar (1) unassisted at 19:21.

Third Period

UW 2: Ryan MacMurchy (8) from Andrew Joudrey (7) and Jeff Likens (6), PP, at 12:21.

UW 3: Rene Bourque (4) from Andy Wozniewski (3) at 19:37.


UW: Bernd Bruckler (60:00) 23 (1 GA)

UM: Al Montoya (59:27) 23 (2 GA)

Badger Nation Top Stories