Badger Sports Roundup

Edmondson lone women's track NCAA qualifier, men's track qualifies eight

New Page 2

The University of Wisconsin men's and women's track and field teams will send nine student-athletes to compete in six events at the 2004 NCAA Indoor Championships this Friday and Saturday in Fayetteville, Ark.

The 18th-ranked men's team will send eight athletes to compete in five events.

The 23rd-ranked UW women's team will be represented by senior Hilary Edmondson. The Sarnia, Ontario, native is seeded second in the mile with a personal best of 4:36.12. Mississippi State's Tiffany McWilliams is seeded first at 4:35.91.

For the Badger men, the highest seed is in the distance medley where the team of Josh Spiker, Jvontai Hanserd, Joe Detmer and Chris Solinsky are ranked sixth in 9:33.02. Michigan has the fastest qualifying time of 9:29.79.

Junior Matt Tegenkamp has the highest individual seed for the men. The Lee's Summit, Mo., native is ranked seventh in the 3000 meters and ninth in the 5000 meters. Tegenkamp ran a UW record of 7:55.14 in the 3000 and an indoor personal best of 13:55.83 in the 5000.

Sophomore Simon Bairu, from Regina, Saskatchewan, is ranked eighth in the 3000 (7:57.05) and 15th in the 5000 (13:57.63) while Solinsky, a freshman from Stevens Point, Wis., is ranked 11th in the 3000 meters.

In the field events, senior Ashraf Fadel is ranked ninth in the heptathlon with a UW record 5,549 points. Redshirt sophomore Alonzo Moore is seeded 14th in the triple jump with an indoor personal best of 52-0.

The meet, which will be held in the Randal Tyson Track Center on the University of Arkansas campus, begins at 9 a.m. on Friday with the first four events of the heptathlon. Finals in the 5000 meters and distance medley relay will be held on Friday evening. On Saturday, events begin at 11 a.m. with team awards being presented at approximately 8:30 p.m.

Badger Nation Top Stories