awards Badgers

Eaves named coach of they year; Suter, Boeser receive honors

New Page 2

U.S. College Hockey Online named Wisconsin coach Mike Eaves its national coach of the year Tuesday. Eaves led Wisconsin to a 22-13-8 record, a third-place finish in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association and its first trip to the NCAA Tournament in three years. It was a remarkable turnaround for a team that finished 13-23-4 just last season.


Eaves was not alone among Badger award recipients Tuesday. Freshman defenseman Ryan Suter was named to's All-Rookie team and senior defenseman Dan Boeser received the Unsung Hero award.


Suter led all Badger defenseman with 16 assists and added three goals. He was also second on the team with a +19 plus/minus rating. Earlier this season, Suter was named to the WCHA All-Rookie team.


Boeser, who signed recently with the Peoria Rivermen of the East Coast Hockey League, was diagnosed with non-Hodgkin's lymphoma prior to his junior season. A tri-captain this year, he led the team's defenseman and was tied for fourth overall with 22 points (eight goals, 14 assists). His eighth goal of the season was his last and most memorable of his career: the game-winner in a 1-0 overtime victory over Ohio State in the first round of the NCAA Tournament.


Boeser is a finalist for the Hockey Humanitarian Award. The winner will be announced Friday during Frozen Four festivities. (see related)


Wisconsin finished its season one goal shy of reaching Thursday's national semifinals, losing to Maine 2-1 in overtime in the East Regional Final March 27.

Badger Nation Top Stories