Badgers choose 2004 captains

Four seniors receive honor

New Page 1

Wisconsin football coach Barry Alvarez announced his team's captains for the 2004 season Friday: tailback Anthony Davis, offensive guard Dan Buenning, defensive tackle Anttaj Hawthorne and defensive back Jim Leonhard. The foursome was determined by a vote of the team.

Davis, who endured ankle injuries for much of last season, has rushed for the third-most yards in the nation the past three years combined and needs just seven rushing yards to move into second place on the all-time Wisconsin list behind Ron Dayne.

Buenning, a second-team All-Big Ten selection last season, has started 37 of 39 games in his career, including the last 24 straight.

Hawthorne was a first-team All-Big Ten choice in 2003 and has started 29 straight games. His team-high 20 tackles-for-loss last season tied for second-most in the Big Ten.

Leonhard, a starter in 27 straight games, has 18 career interceptions, tied for second-most in school history. The Big Ten interceptions leader each of the past two seasons, Leonhard was a first-team All-Big Ten selection last season as well as a second-team CoSIDA Academic All-American.

Badger Nation Top Stories