Badger Sports Roundup, April 25

Johnson finishes fourth at women's golf championships, Badgers take fifth; Rich named women's basketball MVP; Solinski wins 5,000 meters at Oregon invite

New Page 1

Johnson finishes fourth, Badgers fifth


The Wisconsin women's golf team earned a fifth-place finish after the final round of the Big Ten Championship Sunday in Columbus, Ohio, tying Michigan with a total of 1,243 strokes in the 72-hole tournament. No. 3 Ohio State won the event with a score of 1,199, earning its third consecutive Big Ten title.  


Badger senior Malinda Johnson, who was tied for first following Friday's first two rounds, finished in fourth place with an individual score of 299. Indiana senior Danah Ford won the individual title by shooting a 287. Ohio State senior Allison Hanna and junior Kristen White finished second and third, respectively.


No other Badger placed in the top 25, as sophomore Lindsay McMillan shot a 317 and tied for 27th.


Freshman Jill Ries shot a 78 in Sunday's round after leading the Badgers Saturday with a 76. She finished with a 321 to tie for 36th. Freshman Nicki Morse finished in a tie for 43rd with a 325.


Johnson was named to the first-team all-Big Ten roster Sunday while Hanna was named player of the year.


Rich named team MVP at annual banquet


Junior guard Stephanie Rich was named the women's basketball team's Most Valuable Player at the team's annual banquet Sunday afternoon in Madison.


Rich averaged 5.8 assists per game, the top mark in the Big Ten. She also averaged 10.3 points per game and 4.9 rebounds. She was an all-Big Ten honorable mention pick and won the T.J. Flarup Media Award from area media.


Rich was not the only team member who received an award. Sophomore forward Jordan Wilson was named the team's Most Improved Player after becoming a regular starter in 2003-04 who averaged 6.8 points and 5.4 rebounds.


Senior center Lello Gebisa and senior center Emily Ashbaugh earned the Captains Award for their performances. Gebisa had a team-high six rebounds per game to go with 8.9 points per game. Ashbaugh took down 5.8 rebounds and collected 10.2 points per game. Gebisa also earned the Team Unity award and her sister, junior forward Ebba Gebisa, won the Community Service award.


Seven Badgers earned academic All-Big Ten honors earlier this season: Ashbaugh, senior forward Abby Simmons, Ebba Gebisa, freshman guard Margaret Gilmartin, sophomore forward Annie Nelson, sophomore guard Erin Olson and Wilson.


Solinski wins 5,000 meters at Oregon invite


Freshman Chris Solinsky won the 5,000 meters at the Oregon Invitational Saturday in Eugene, Ore. He also earned a personal-best and NCAA Regional qualifying time of 13:42.44 and now holds the eighth-fastest time in UW history. He was one of four UW runners to finish in the top 10.


Sophomore Simon Bairu took fourth, also earning a personal-best time of 13:45.50 and junior Tim Keller finished just behind him with a time of 13:47.40, improving on his previous personal-best time by more than 46 seconds. Freshman Tim Nelson took 10th in 14:03.20, his fastest time.


Sophomore Ben Gregory took sixth in the 1,500 meters, finishing in 3:49.12.

Badger Nation Top Stories