Davis, Orton share Big Ten honor

Wisconsin tailback makes it four straight weeks a Badger has received a conference award

Wisconsin tailback Anthony Davis earned a share of the Big Ten's Offensive Player of the Week honor in his first full game this season.

Davis returned after missing 3 ½ games with an orbital fracture and ran 27 times for 213 yards and three touchdowns in the Badgers' 24-7 win over Illinois Saturday. He also caught three passes for 37 yards.

Davis rattled off three runs of 26 yards or more, the longest rushes by a UW back this season, and averaged 7.9 yards per carry. He is now just six yards shy of the 4,000-yard mark for his career, as he would become the second Badger to surpass that barrier along with college football's all-time rushing yardage leader, Ron Dayne. This is Davis' second weekly Big Ten award and first since the final weekend of the 2002 campaign.

This marks the fourth consecutive week a Wisconsin player has been named a Big Ten Player of the Week. Defensive end Erasmus James won the defensive honor Sept. 20 and Sept. 27 and Jim Leonhard claimed the special teams award Sept. 13.

Davis shares the honor this week with Purdue quarterback Kyle Orton. Orton continued his stunning season by completing 21 of 31 passes (67.7 percent) for four touchdowns to lead the Boilermakers to their first win at Notre Dame since 1974. The senior signal caller racked up his third straight 300-yard outing, equaling the school record held by Jim Everett and Drew Brees. Orton has passed for at least four touchdowns in every game this season. He currently leads the country in pass efficiency (194.1), passing touchdowns (17) and points responsible for (28.5 per game) while rating second in total offense (355.3 yards per game). This is his second straight weekly accolade, third this season and fourth for his career.

Davis and Orton were also finalists for the Cingular Wireless/ABC Sports All-American Player of the Week, along with Georgia quarterback David Greene and California wide receiver Chase Lyman. Greene won the honor, the result of fan balloting Sunday.

Badger Nation Top Stories