Alvarez, James award semifinalists

Prestigious Maxwell Club honors will be announced Dec. 9

University of Wisconsin football coach Barry Alvarez and defensive end Erasmus James have been tabbed semifinalist for national awards, the Maxwell Club announced Monday.

Alvarez, who has led the Badgers to an 8-0 record and No. 5 ranking in the Bowl Championship Series Standings, is one of nine semifinalists for the George Munger National Coach of the Year Award.

James is one of 12 semifinalists for the Chuck Bednarik National Defensive Player of the Year Award. He leads the Big Ten with seven quarterback sacks and leads the nation's top scoring defense with 10.5 tackles for loss. James is a two-time Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week this season and is also a semifinalist for the Lombardi Award.

Munger Award semifinalists

Barry Alvarez, Wisconsin
Bobby Bowden, Florida State
Pete Carroll, USC
Larry Coker, Miami
Urban Meyer, Utah
Mark Richt, Georgia
Bob Stoops, Oklahoma
Jeff Tedford, California
Tommy Tuberville, Auburn

Bednarik Award semifinalists

Michael Boley, LB, Southern Mississippi
Kevin Burnett, LB, Tennessee
Dan Cody, DL, Oklahoma
Shaun Cody, DL, USC
Thomas Davis, DB, Georgia
A.J. Hawk, LB, Ohio State
Erasmus James, DE, Wisconsin
Derrick Johnson, LB, Texas
David Pollack, DE, Georgia
Carlos Rogers, CB, Auburn
Antrell Rolle, DB, Miami
Marcus Spears, DL, LSU

Badger Nation Top Stories