Pollack wins Lombardi over Badgers' James

Georgia DE first ever Bulldog to claim honor

David Pollack, a senior defensive end at the University of Georgia, won the Lombardi Award Wednesday over fellow seniors defensive end Erasmus James of Wisconsin, defensive lineman Shaun Cody of USC and linebacker Derrick Johnson of Texas.

Pollack became the first Bulldog to ever win the Lombardi honor, which goes to the nation's top offensive lineman, defensive lineman or linebacker. Johnson had been the favorite for Wednesday's honor after winning the Bronco Nagurski Trophy as the nation's best defensive player Monday.

Georgia's all-time career sack leader with 33, Pollack has 9 ½ this season and 14 ½ tackles for loss. Eighth-ranked Georgia (9-2) next takes on James and No. 16 Wisconsin (9-2) in the Outback Bowl in Tampa, Fla., New Year's Day.

James, Pollack and Johnson are also finalists for the Bednarik Award for the nation's best defensive player, which will be announced tonight. James, Pollack and Cody are finalists for the Hendricks Award, which goes to college football's top defensive end. Pollack won that award last year.

Badger Nation Top Stories