Alvarez wins coach of the year

Wisconsin coach claims second career AFCA honor

Barry Alvarez, the University of Wisconsin's head football coach and athletic director, was named American Football Coaches Association Region 3 Coach of the Year Wednesday.

Virginia's Al Groh (Region 1), Auburn's Tommy Tuberville (Region 2), UTEP's Mike Price (Region 4) and Utah's Urban Meyer (Region 5) also won 2004 AFCA coach of the year honors.

Alvarez earned AFCA National Coach of the Year acclaim in 1993 when he led Wisconsin to a 10-1-1 record, the Big Ten title and a victory in the Rose Bowl.

This year Alvarez' squad won its first nine games, moving up to as high as No. 4 in the Associated Press poll. The Badgers lost their final two regular season games, finishing third in the Big Ten and earning a trip to the Outback Bowl to take on No. 8 Georgia (9-2) Jan. 1.

All five regional coach of the year recipients will be honored during the AFCA convention Jan. 11 in Louisville. The national coach of the year will be named at that time.

Badger Nation Top Stories