Wisconsin stomps over Mavericks 7-2

Two Badgers on player of the year list

The No. 4 Wisconsin women's hockey team (20-7-1 overall, 14-7-1 Western Collegiate Hockey Association), owned Minnesota State Sunday at the Kohl Center, posting a 7-2 win over the Mavericks (8-14-6, 7-12-3).

Sophomore forward Sara Bauer earned WCHA Offensive Player of the Week honors after collecting a hat trick, with all three goals coming within a span of less than eight minutes. She scored at 16:33 and 18:54 in the first period and added her third goal at 4:16 in the second.

Freshman forward Jinelle Zaugg, who earned WCHA Co-Rookie of the Week honors, tallied Wisconsin's first goal at 9:15 in the first period. Her second goal came at 7:49 in the second period. Senior forward Jackie Friesen picked up Wisconsin's other two goals, a power-play goal at 10:44 in the first period and the Badgers' final goal at 15:28 in the second.

Junior netminder Meghan Horras gave up two goals in net—to senior forward Melanie Salatino and junior defender Jen Jonsson—but also saved 14 pucks. Mavericks sophomore goaltender Laura Brennan stopped 29 pucks.

MacLeod and Engstrom Kazmaier finalists

Seniors Carla MacLeod and Molly Engstrom, defenders on the Wisconsin women's hockey team, are two of 10 finalists for the 2005 Patty Kazmaier Award, which goes to the most outstanding player in women's college hockey.

Individual and team skills, sportsmanship, personal character, performance in the clutch, competitiveness and a love of hockey are among the criteria for the award.

MacLeod, the team captain, is rated No. 14 in the nation in points per game for a defenseman with 17 points on three goals and 14 assists. She has competed with Canada's national teams camps and has participated in international competitions.

Engstrom has competed with the U.S. national team and was the 2004 WCHA Defensive Player of the Year and an All-WCHA first-team selection. Engstrom has 10 goals and 18 assists for 28 points this season.

The next cut will be made March 14, when the field is narrowed to three athletes.

Badger Nation Top Stories