Men's swimming: Badgers finish seventh

Wisconsin adds NCAA "B" standards during Big Ten Championships

The University of Wisconsin men's swimming and diving team finished seventh in the Big Ten Championships, held Thursday through Saturday at the University of Minnesota. The Gophers won the meet with 720 points, while Wisconsin earned 259.

In Saturday's competition, several swimmers placed in the top eight, but no one finished better than fifth. Senior Adam Mania led the way for the Badgers, placing fifth in the 200-meter backstroke in an NCAA "B" standard time of 1 minute, 44.28 seconds. Senior Tim Liebhold placed seventh in 1:45.49, also a provisional qualifying time. Junior Chris DeJong of Michigan won the event in a time of 1:42.55.

Mania also competed with the 400 freestyle relay team, which finished fifth in 2:55.99, a NCAA "B" time. Liebhold, senior Eric Wiesner and sophomore Tom Molzahn also competed with the team. The team from Minnesota won in 2:51.24.

Wiesner also competed in the 100-meter freestyle, finishing seventh in 44.55 seconds and earning an NCAA provisional qualifying time. Senior Terry Silkaitis, a senior from the University of Minnesota, won the event in 42.91.

Badger freshman Michael Swanson placed 15th in the mile in 15:44.20.

In the platform diving competition, freshmen Ben Raznick (338.10 points), Justin Bonner (331.25) and Josh Bonner (311.10) all failed to qualify for the finals.

Badger Nation Top Stories