Coaching acclaim

Nuttycombe tabbed coach of the year; Ryan a Naismith finalist

University of Wisconsin men's track coach Ed Nuttycombe was named the Big Ten indoor track and field coach of the year Wednesday after guiding the team to its fifth consecutive Big Ten indoor championship Saturday and Sunday in West Lafayette, Ind.

This is not the first time Nuttycombe has received this award — this is his seventh indoor honor and 14th track honor in his 22 years as Wisconsin's head coach. The Badgers have won eight of the last 10 indoor titles and seven of the past 10 outdoor titles. Nuttycombe has coached 119 individual conference champions and his teams have scored in 18 of 21 NCAA outdoor championships. Wisconsin's track program, under Nuttycombe's guidance, owns six Triple Crowns (Big Ten championships in cross country, indoor and outdoor track in the same academic year) in the last nine years.

Ryan a Naismith finalist

Wisconsin men's basketball coach Bo Ryan is a finalist for the Naismith Coach of the Year Award, one of 20 coaches to make the list. The finalists were announced Wednesday by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

Ryan joins coaches such as North Carolina's Roy Williams, Illinois' Bruce Weber, Duke's Mike Krzyzewski and Kentucky's Tubby Smith on the list. The Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, including basketball journalists, coaches and administrators, selects the finalists.

Ryan, in his fourth season as UW's head coach, has led the Badgers (19-7 overall, 10-5 Big Ten) to their fourth consecutive 10-win conference season, which is a school record. With a win against Purdue Saturday, Wisconsin would have a 20-win season for the third straight year, a new school record.

Badger Nation Top Stories