Engstrom repeats

Senior defenseman named Defensive Player of the Year for second straight year; three other Badgers honored

Molly Engstrom, a senior defenseman on the University of Wisconsin women's hockey team, was named Western Collegiate Hockey Association Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season Wednesday.

Engstrom has anchored the Badgers' blueline this line, helping UW rank third in the league in scoring defense, allowing just 1.57 goals per game in conference-only games.

Engstrom finished tied for third in the league in defenseman scoring in league-only games (nine goals, 12 assists for 21 points) and second in defenseman scoring overall (13-21=34). Her 13 goals this season rank fourth at UW.

Engstrom was also named first-team All-WCHA, while three of her teammates received conference athletic honors and nine Badgers earned All-Academic team acclaim.

Last season's WCHA Rookie of the Year, sophomore forward Sara Bauer, was named to the second-team all-conference squad Wednesday. Bauer leads the Badgers with 25 goals and is second on the team with 24 assists. She ranks seventh in the conference in overall scoring and is tied for seventh in conference-only scoring with 37 points (19 goals, 18 assists).

Senior defenseman Carla MacLeod also made the second team. A captain for the Badgers, MacLeod scored 21 of her 23 points in WCHA play, tying her with teammate Engstrom for third in the league among defensemen.

Freshman Jinelle Zaugg, who has 11 goals and 13 assists, was named to the all-Rookie team.

The awards were dominated by league champion Minnesota and runner-up Minnesota-Duluth. Gopher forward Krissy Wendell was named Player of the Year, freshman forward Bobbi Ross was named Rookie of the Year and coach Laura Halldorson was named Coach of the Year.

Wisconsin also had nine student-athletes earn WCHA Academic awards: Bauer, MacLeod, Sharon Cole, Lindsay Macy, Meghan Mikkelson, Phoebe Monteleone, Nikki Burish, Heidi Kletzien and Amy Vermeulen.

Badger Nation Top Stories