UW will send 20 athletes to NCAA Championships

Badgers have 16 men's and four women's participants in June 8-11 event

The University of Wisconsin will send 16 athletes to the men's NCAA outdoor track and field championships and four competitors to the women's championships, June 8-11 in Sacramento, Calif. After the Mideast Regional, 14 Badgers had secured automatic bids to the NCAA Championships. But all of the UW athletes who were eligible for at-large bids were also selected for the competition.

The Badger men's 400-meter relay team of sophomore Brian Calhoun, senior Jvontai Hanserd and sophomores Dan Goesch and Demi Omole placed fifth at regionals and secured an at-large bid and the 15th seed for the championships with a time of 39.71 seconds. Omole automatically qualified in the open 100.

Junior Rick Bellford also made it to the championships with an at-large bid; he is seeded 16th in the triple jump after placing seventh at regionals.

Two UW women's athletes also received at-large bids. Sophomore Shuntia Lucas took sixth in the 200 at regionals and is seeded 27th for the championships. Sophomore ‘A Havahla Haynes is seeded 27th in the 3,000-meter steeplechase, having finished eighth at regionals.

Highlighting the Badger contingent are distance runners junior Simon Bairu, senior Matt Tegenkamp and sophomore Chris Solinsky. Bairu, who has run the second fastest time of any collegian this year in the 10,000 meters, is ranked No. 1 in the event for the championships. Stanford's Ian Dobson, owner of the fastest time in the 10,000 and 5,000, is only entered in the 5,000. Tegenkamp and Solinsky are ranked fourth and fifth in the 5,000.

Nathan Brown qualified for the championships in the javelin during regionals, but is not entered in that event. He will compete in the decathlon.

Complete UW men's entry list:

Demi Omole, ranked No. 18, 100 meters (10.32)

Josh Spiker, No. 16, 1,500 (3:44.19)

Matt Tegenkamp, No. 4, 5,000 (13:31.98)

Chris Solinsky, No. 5, 5,000 (13:38.92)

Simon Bairu, No. 1, 10,000 (28:04.75)

Tim Nelson, No. 10, 10,000 (28:45.32)

Antony Ford, No. 17, 10,000 (28:55.62)

Calhoun, Hanserd, Goesch, Omole, 400 relay, No. 15 (39.71)

Brent Boettcher, No. 18, high jump (7-1)

Alonzo Moore, No. 14, triple jump (52-1 ¾)

Rick Bellford, No. 16, triple jump (51-10 ¾)

Joe Thomas, No. 15, shot put (62-5 ¼)

Nathan Brown, No. 21, decathlon (7,241 points)

Ben Roland, No. 24, decathlon (7,179)

Complete UW women's entry list:

Katrina Rundhaug, No. 12, 10,000 meters (33:45.03)

Melissa Talbot, No. 11, heptathlon (5,379 points)

Shuntia Lucas, No. 27, 200 (23.64)

‘A Havahla Haynes, No. 27, 3,000 steeplechase (10:28.54)

Badger Nation Top Stories