Badgers win first Showdown in three years

Five Badgers score and five more provide assists in lopsided win over Northern Michigan.

The top-ranked Wisconsin men's hockey team won the Badger Hockey Showdown for the first time since 2002, defeating Northern Michigan 5-1 on Saturday night at the Kohl Center.

Five different Badgers netted goals and an additional five Badgers notched assists on those goals as UW (16-2-2 overall) out-shot Northern Michigan 42-20.

Sophomore forward Joe Pavelski and junior defenseman Jeff Likens, both of whom were named to the all-tournament team, scored Wisconsin's first and second goals, respectively. The power-play goal was Likens' first goal of the season. Senior captain and forward Adam Burish, freshman forward Ben Street and senior defenseman Tom Gilbert also put goals in the net for Wisconsin.

Senior forward A.J. Degenhardt had two assists, while junior forward Jake Dowell, senior forward Ryan MacMurchy, junior forward Robbie Earl and senior forward Nick Licari also added helpers.

Northern Michigan (10-9-1) defenseman Nathan Oystrick scored the Wildcats' only goal, on a power play in the second period. He and forward Mike Santorelli were named to the all-tournament team.

Badger junior netminder Brian Elliott, who was named the tournament MVP, stopped 19 shots while allowing one goal in helping UW to its ninth Showdown title in the 17-year tournament history. The Badgers kept NMU goalie Bill Zaniboni on his toes throughout the night, as he made 37 saves and gave up five goals in the loss.

Wayne State defeated Western Michigan 6-3 earlier in the day to take third place at the Showdown. Wayne State forward Nate Higgins was named to the all-tournament team.

Badger Nation Top Stories