Tucker first-team all-conference

UW junior forward a consensus choice; Kammron Taylor honorable mention; Joe Krabbenhoft all-freshman

Alando Tucker, a junior forward on the University of Wisconsin men's basketball team, was named a consensus first-team all-conference choice Tuesday.

Tucker led the Big Ten in conference-only scoring average at 20.0 points per game. He edged out Michigan guard Daniel Horton for the conference scoring title by a 320-316 margin.

Tucker also tied for 10th in the league with 6.2 rebounds per game and was eighth in offensive rebounds at 2.56 per game, while leading the Badgers to a 9-7 conference mark and a fourth-place finish.

The only player with 2006-07 eligibility named to either first-team this season, Tucker was an all-freshman team selection in 2003 and a third-team all-conference choice in 2005.

This is the fifth consecutive season the Badgers have had a player on both the coaches' and media's first-team all-conference squad. Four different UW players have been party to that streak: Kirk Penney (2002-03), Devin Harris (2004), Mike Wilkinson (2005) and now Tucker. Prior to 2002, Wisconsin had just two consensus first-team selections since 1952.

Two other Badgers earned all-conference honors Tuesday.

Junior point guard Kammron Taylor was a consensus honorable mention choice. Taylor was 11th in the league in scoring (14.4 points per game), tied for 13th in assists (2.63 per game), seventh in free-throw percentage (82.7), 12th in 3-pointers made per game (2.13) and eighth in minutes played (36.06 per game).

Forward Joe Krabbenhoft was named to the all-freshman team. In conference play, Krabbenhoft averaged 3.7 points and 5.1 rebounds in 18.7 minutes.

Tucker was also chosen to represent Wisconsin as a Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree.

Complete list of all-conference honorees

Alando Tucker (UW Athletics)

Badger Nation Top Stories