Badger Sports Roundup

Men's hockey receives verbal commitment for 2008-09 from Brock Montpetit; former Badger hockey player Ken Rowe transfers to Army; Big Ten names Tiffany Weimer and Peter Vanderkaay athletes of the year.

Men's hockey adds recruit for 2008-09

According to a report in today's Wisconsin State Journal, Brock Montpetit, a 5-foot-11, 180-pound center from Somerset, Wis., has verbally committed to the University of Wisconsin men's hockey program for the class of 2008-09.

Montpetit will be a junior this fall at Shattuck-St. Mary's, a private high school in Faribault, Minn. He is the fifth player, and the fourth forward, to verbally commit to UW for the 2008-09 season, joining Chris Hickey (who could enroll in the fall of 2007), Josh Turnbull, Matt Thurber and defenseman Ryan McDonagh.

Former Badger transfers to Army

Ken Rowe, who played hockey at the University of Wisconsin for two seasons, has transferred to the Army Academy, where he will be a junior this fall.

Rowe played last season for the Des Moines Buccaneers of the Tier I junior United States Hockey League. He contributed 20 goals and 21 assists in 69 games.

Rowe, a native of Faribault, Minn., played 12 games at UW as a freshman in 2003-04 and tallied one goal and one assist. He had two assists in 11 games as a sophomore.

Prior to enrolling at UW, Rowe competed for Shattuck-St. Mary's, helping that team win the USA Hockey Tier I Under-17 national title in the 2002-03 season, when Rowe had 28 goals and 40 assists in 58 games.

Big Ten conference athletes of the year

Penn State soccer star Tiffany Weimer was named the Suzy Favor Big Ten Female Athlete of the Year and Michigan swimming standout Peter Vanderkaay is the Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year, the conference announced yesterday.

Weimer, the Big Ten's all-time leading goal scorer, led Penn State to its eighth-straight Big Ten Championship and an undefeated 23-0-2 campaign in 2005. The Nittany Lions earned their third College Cup appearance in six years, while finishing ranked No. 2 in the nation, their highest finish ever. They lost in a shootout in a national semifinal to eventual NCAA Champion Portland. After breaking numerous Big Ten records, Weimer earned her second-consecutive Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year laurel and was the runner-up for the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy, given to college soccer's top player, for the second-consecutive year. A three-time All-American, she established the Big Ten single-season mark with 32 goals, while also setting the conference career record (91). In addition, she ranks among the Top 10 in NCAA history in goals in a season and career goals.

Vanderkaay, a 16-time All-American and three-time Big Ten Swimmer of the Year, capped off his collegiate career by capturing his fifth overall NCAA title and second-straight in the 500-yard freestyle, while also nabbing four conference crowns this past season. At the 2006 NCAA Championships, he broke an 11-year-old NCAA, American and U.S. Open record in the 500-freestyle event, a mark held by U-M's Tom Dolan since 1995. Vanderkaay also won three individual events and was a member of Michigan's first-place 800-freestyle relay at the Big Ten Championship meet. He is the third-fastest American man ever in the 400-meter freestyle and fifth-fastest in the 200-meter freestyle. In addition, Vanderkaay won gold medals in the 800-meter freestyle relay at the 2004 Olympic Games and 2005 World Championships.

Wisconsin's nominees for the awards were Patty Kazmaier Award winner Sara Bauer and two-time NCAA Men's Cross Country Champion Simon Bairu.

Badger Nation Top Stories