Badgers earn third place in Showdown

After a disappointing loss on Friday, the Badger men's hockey squad fought back with a great effort on Saturday night - winning 5-0 over Providence.


The UW men's hockey team shutout Providence 5-0 Saturday night to finish third in the 18th annual Badger Hockey Showdown. Ben Grotting's goal 23 seconds into play ended up being the game-winner as the Badgers improve to 8-10-2.

Wisconsin goalie Shane Connelly (Cheltenham, Pa.) earned his second win of the season improving to 2-0-1 in three games played. Connelly stopped 26 shots to earn his second shutout of the year and the third of his career. Connelly has now recorded a shutout in each of his last three starts.

Grotting (Birmingham, Ala.) was able to score on the Badgers first possession to take the 1-0 lead only 23 seconds into the game. Just 15 seconds later, Ben Street (Coquitlam, B.C.) scored making the game 2-0 less than a minute into the game.

Junior Matthew Ford (West Hills, Calif.) scored the Badgers' third goal at the 9:59 mark of the second frame off helpers from John Mitchell (Neenah, Wis.) and Tom Gorowsky (Lino Lakes, Minn.).

Late in the third period, the Badgers grabbed two short-handed, empty net goals to make it 5-0, sealing the win. Andrew Joudrey (Bedford, Nova Scotia) and Jake Dowell (Eau Claire, Wis.) scored at the 17:02 and 18:10 marks respectively. Both goals were unassisted while Providence had pulled goalie Tyler Sims in order to have another attacker trying to tie the game in its final minutes.

Sims ended the night with 22 saves, as Providence went 0-for-7 on the power play. The Badgers were also scoreless on the power play (0-for-4), but were able to notch two short-handed goals.

Earlier today, Clarkson defeated Lake Superior State 3-2 to win the Badger Hockey Showdown. Six players were selected to be honored on the all-tournament team.

The 2006 Badger Hockey Showdown All-Tournament Team is as follows:

Forwards: Nick Dodge * Clarkson, Josh Sim * Lake Superior State, Jake Dowell * Wisconsin

Defensemen: Tyrell Mason * Clarkson, Barnabas Birkeland * Lake Superior State

Goaltender: David Leggio * Clarkson

Tournament MVP: Nick Dodge - Clarkson

The Badgers next travel to Denver to take on the Pioneers Jan. 5-6. Friday's game is set for 8:30 p.m., while the puck will drop on Saturday at 8 p.m.

Badger Nation Top Stories