Tucker earns NABC Career Achievement Award

Alando Tucker was honored for his achievements on the court that span five years.

ATLANTA, Ga. - Wisconsin senior Alando Tucker received the NABC Career Achievement Award on Sunday at the NABC Awards Show held at the Georgia World Congress Center in Atlanta, Ga. Tucker and Texas A&M senior Acie Law were both honored for their contributions to college basketball throughout their careers.

Tucker became Wisconsin's all-time leading scorer this season and played in a school-record 99 UW victories during his five seasons. This year, Tucker was named Big Ten Player of the Year and became just the third Badger to earn consensus first-team All-America honors.

Wisconsin head coach Bo Ryan was also honored at the Awards Show, receiving a trophy to commemorate his 500th career victory, a win over Auburn on Nov. 25. Ryan, an active member of the NABC Congress, also acted as a presenter. He helped recognize Bobby Knight of Texas Tech and Herb Magee of Philadelphia, who became the Division I and Division II all-time wins leaders, respectively, this season. Ryan also awarded the 2007 Guardians of the Game Award for Service to Richard Reed of Sacramento State University.

Tucker was one of four finalists for the Naismith Player of the Year Award, which was also presented at Sunday's Awards Show. Freshman Kevin Durant of Texas won the award, beating out Tucker, Law and Tyler Hansbrough of North Carolina.

Badger Nation Top Stories