Revamping the Post Season

With bowl contracts endings between the Big Ten and the Alamo Bowl, Champs Sports Bowl and the Little Caesars Bowl, the Big Ten decides to add a familiar venue and two new arenas in next year's lineup.

Having a diverse bowl schedule, the Big Ten features games from five different states from the day after Christmas to New Year's Day.

Now, the Big Ten features the majority of its bowl games on the biggest college football day of the year, having five games on New Year's Day.

Unveiling its new postseason lineup for the 2010-13 college football seasons Tuesday, the Big Ten announced new four-year bowl agreements with the Konica Minolta Gator Bowl (Jacksonville), Texas Bowl (Houston) and Dallas Football Classic.

The conference also announced four-year bowl extensions with the Capital One Bowl (Orlando), Outback Bowl (Tampa) and Insight Bowl (Tempe). Including the conference's eight-year extension with the Rose Bowl through the 2013 season, the new Big Ten bowl lineup will run concurrently with the latest Bowl Championship Series contract.

"We are excited to announce our bowl lineup for the 2010-13 seasons, with seven outstanding destinations in Arizona, California, Florida and Texas, which will allow us to showcase our programs in six different New Year's Eve and New Year's Day games," said Big Ten Commissioner James E. Delany in a statement. "With the number of Big Ten alumni in these states, this bowl lineup is a natural fit and should provide some compelling matchups on the field."

The Capital One Bowl first entered into an agreement with the Big Ten for the 1992 campaign and the conference has sent a team to Orlando in each of the last 17 seasons, marking the conference's second-longest bowl agreement behind the Rose Bowl. The Big Ten has won four of the last five New Year's Day matchups, which are held at Florida Citrus Bowl Stadium.

The Outback Bowl's association with the Big Ten began in 1993 and will extend through the 2013 campaign with games held at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa. The Big Ten has been victorious in two of the last three New Year's Day games.

After becoming the Big Ten's first Arizona bowl game tie-in in 2006, the Insight Bowl will remain a part of the conference's postseason lineup. Representatives from the Big Ten and Big 12 will continue to meet in the annual game held at Sun Devil Stadium in Tempe, Ariz.. Previously known as the Copper Bowl from its inception in 1989 through 1996, Big Ten teams are 2-3 in this event with victories by Indiana in 1991 and Wisconsin in 1996.

The Big Ten will return to the Konica Minolta Gator Bowl for the first time in nearly two decades, giving the conference a third Florida postseason game to conclude the 2010 through 2013 seasons. Matching teams from the Big Ten and SEC, the Gator Bowl will be held on New Year's Day at Jacksonville Municipal Stadium in Jacksonville. The Big Ten has appeared in five Gator Bowls.

The Big Ten will continue to play postseason football in the state of Texas with a pair of games beginning after the 2010 campaign. The Big Ten will make its first appearance in the Texas Bowl in December of 2010 at Reliant Stadium in Houston. One of the country's newest postseason games, the first Texas Bowl took place in 2006 and will match a Big Ten and Big 12 program beginning in 2010. A Big Ten school has played a bowl contest in the state of Texas in every season since 1995.

The Big Ten's second postseason game in Texas will be the Dallas Football Classic, which will debut following the 2010 campaign with teams from the Big Ten and Conference USA. The Dallas Football Classic will mark the conference's fifth New Year's Day game and will be played in Cotton Bowl Stadium in Dallas.

Badger Nation Top Stories