Stinson Makes First Team All-MWC

They may not have ended their season on a high note, but the Cowboys did get consistent play from a few of their stars in 2007. Cornerback Julius Stinson led the way as a First Team All-MWC selection. See which of Wyoming's other standouts earned All-Conference honors…

Laramie, Wyo. -- The Mountain West Conference announced its All-Conference football team yesterday, and Wyoming senior cornerback Julius Stinson was named to the First Team in voting by conference head coaches and media members.

Stinson concluded his Wyoming career ranked No. 2 in the conference and No. 24 in the nation in interceptions with five on the season. He also ranked second in the MWC and No. 12 in the NCAA in passes defended, with a total of 17 for the year. The native of Victorville, Calif., was one of 12 semifinalists for this year's Jim Thorpe Award, which honors the nation's top defensive back. Stinson was an Honorable Mention All-MWC selection his junior year.

Senior tight end/h-back Wade Betschart earned Second Team All-MWC for the second consecutive season. Betschart caught 32 passes for 296 yards in 2007—both were career highs. He was one of the most consistent tight ends in the league this past season, catching three or more passes in eight of 12 games. He caught two touchdown passes on the season, one versus Air Force and one against UNLV. He also was a devastating blocker coming out of the backfield from his h-back position.

John Fletcher quickly made his mark in the league in his first year as a starter on the defensive line. The sophomore tackle recorded 10.5 sacks to rank No. 2 in the conference and No. 12 in the country. He also totaled 14.0 tackles for losses to tie for fifth in the MWC and 45th in the nation. This was Fletcher's first All-Conference honor of his career.

There were also four Cowboys who earned Honorable Mention All-Conference honors: Ward Dobbs (junior inside linebacker), Kyle Howard (junior offensive tackle), Mitch Unrein (sophomore defensive end) and Billy Vinnedge (senior punter).

Other MWC Awards…

The MWC Offensive Player of the Year was Chad Hall, Sr., RB/WR from Air Force.

UNLV senior linebacker Beau Bell won the Defensive Player of the Year award.

Junior place-kicker/punter Louie Sakoda of Utah was voted Special Teams Players of the Year, after sharing the honor a season ago.

The Freshman of the Year was BYU running back Harvey Unga.

Air Force's Troy Calhoun earned Coach of the Year honors in his first season as head coach of the Falcons.

Cowboy Blitz Top Stories