Steven Branscombe-USA TODAY Sports

Xavier completes its 2016-17 non-conference schedule

Xavier announced its non-conference opponents for the 2016-17 season on Thursday morning.

CINCINNATI --- Xavier University announced the complete list of non-conference opponents for the 2016-17 men’s basketball season, including at least six games against 2016 NCAA Tournament teams (Baylor, Buffalo, Cincinnati, Colorado, Northern Iowa and Utah) with the possibility of two more games against 2016 NCAA Tournament teams at the Puerto Rico Tip-Off (Northern Iowa and Oklahoma).


Xavier opens the 2016-17 season with an exhibition game on Nov. 5. Opening Night at Cintas Center is Nov. 11against Lehigh. This will be Xavier’s first game vs. Lehigh since XU defeated the Mountain Hawks, including current NBA star C.J. McCollum of the Portland Trailblazers, in the Round of 32 in the 2012 NCAA Tournament.


The Musketeers host two-time defending Mid-American Conference Champion Buffalo, coming off its second straight NCAA Tournament, on Nov. 14. The remainder of the eight-game non-conference home slate is highlighted by Northern Iowa on Nov. 26, Utah on Dec. 10 and the Skip Prosser Classic vs. Wake Forest on Dec. 17. Utah finished 27-9 this past season, earning its second straight NCAA Tournament berth and reaching the NCAA Tournament Round of 32. Xavier looks forward to its first-ever meeting with two-time defending Missouri Valley Conference Champion Northern Iowa. UNI, 23-13 this past season, earned its seventh trip to the NCAA Tournament since 2004, the most by any MVC team during that period. North Dakota State and Eastern Washington round out the home non-conference schedule.


Xavier’s non-conference road schedule is challenging as well, including trips to the home courts of three 2016 NCAA Tournament teams: at Baylor on Dec. 3, at Colorado on Dec. 7 and at Cincinnati on a date still to be announced. XU is once again part of one of the top neutral site exempt events at the 2016 Puerto Rico Tip-OffNov. 17-20 against a field that includes Arizona State, Clemson, Davidson, Missouri, Northern Iowa, Oklahoma and Tulane. The Puerto Rico Tip-Off bracket will be released at a later date.


For anyone looking to become a season ticket holder for 2016-17, deposits are now being accepted.  The non-refundable season ticket deposit is $100 per seat, and can be placed over the phone at 513-745-3411 x7, or online at

2016-17 Xavier University Non-Conference Schedule (home games in bold)


Saturday, November 5 Exhibition Game


Friday, November 11 Opening Night vs. Lehigh

Monday, November 14 Buffalo

Thursday, November 17 *Puerto Rico Tip-Off

Friday, November 18 *Puerto Rico Tip-Off

Sunday, November 20 *Puerto Rico Tip-Off

Saturday, November 26 Northern Iowa

Wednesday, November 30 North Dakota State


Saturday, December 3 at Baylor

Wednesday, December 7 at Colorado

Saturday, December 10 Utah

Saturday, December 17 Wake Forest (Skip Prosser Classic)

Tuesday, December 20 Eastern Washington


Date TBA at Cincinnati (Skyline Chili Crosstown Shootout)


The 2016 Puerto Rico Tip-Off field includes Arizona State, Clemson, Davidson, Missouri, Northern Iowa, Oklahoma, Tulane and Xavier; the bracket will be released at a later date. The tournament takes place at the Coliseo Roberto Clemente in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Musketeer Report Top Stories