Frank Victores-USA TODAY Sports

Sumner named to Cousy watchlist

Edmond Sumner is one of 20 candidates on the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award watchlist.

SPRINGFIELD, MASS. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 20 watchlist candidates, including Xavier University sophomore Edmond Sumner, for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross. Named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic andHoly Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor now in its 14th year recognizes the top point guards in Division Imen’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Sumner, a 2016-17 Preseason First Team All-BIG EAST Conference selection by the league coaches, is coming off a standout freshman campaign where he earned Kyle Macy Freshman All-America honors ( and was a unanimous selection to the 2015-16 All-BIG EAST Freshman Team by the BIG EAST coaches. Sumner finished second on the team in scoring last season at 11.0 ppg. and second on the team in assists at 3.6 apg.

Bob Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-1950 winning an NCAA Championship in 1947. He was named aConsensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBAChampion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. InMarch, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.  The winner of the 2017 Bob CousyAward will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 7, 2017. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut(2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez,Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006),Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).

Musketeer Report Top Stories