4A1 Sonoran Region Review

Like 2009, this region appears to be a two team race between CDO and Sabino

4A1 Sonoran Region Review


This looks to be a two team race as CDO will ride the legs of Arizona commit RB KaDeem Carey and Sabino looks to avenge two loses to CDO from 2009.


1. Canyon del Oro
2. Sabino
3. Catalina Foothills
4. Flowing Wells
5. Pueblo


Canyon Del Oro: They will look to repeat as the 4A1 State Champions behind a great running game that last year plowed for over 3,000 yards.

They will have their main weapon back as last year's 1st Team All-Region running back KaDeem Carey returns for his senior year. He will have big holes to run through with two returning all-Region players from last year return on the offensive line, Jesse Caldwell and Joey Banks. Splitting carries with Carey will be another All-Region running back Eddie Smith.

They will have some big shoes to fill at the receiver positions as 1st Team All-Region selections Josh Robbins and Jared Tevis have graduated.

David Catalano a 1st Team All-Region selection last year and his partner on the defensive line Jesse Caldwell will look to stop any running attack the opposition gives them.

They will be missing 1st Team All-Region defensive backs Josh Robbins and Jared Tevis but do have Eddie Smith who will be looking to have his name called frequently as the leader of the secondary.

Key Losses: Josh Robbins (WR/DB), Jared Tevis (WR-DB), Mike Lewis (QB), Jared Studer (OL), Jerry Theberge (OL), Colby Tigges (OL/DL), Ryan Peterson (LB), Garrett Henderson (LB), Kelton Beattie (DB)

Key Returners: KaDeem Carey (RB), Eddie Smith (RB), David Catalano (DL), Jesse Caldwell (OL), Joey Banks (OL), Bobby Henkel (RB/LB), Tilghman Harvey (K)

Catalina Foothills: They finished the season winning their last two games against region opponents and will try to carry that momentum over to this year.

Offensively they will need to put more points on the board if they want to make a playoff push. They only scored 20+ points twice last season both coming at the end of the year against region foes Flowing Wells and Pueblo.

Defensively they were anchored by Rolly Escarcega, Will Waldrup, Elliot Koester, Shawn Kobylisnki and held their opponents to less than 14 points six times last season. Their defense kept them in many games, they just could not muster enough offensive fire power to get to them over the hump.

Key Losses: Rolly Escarcega (LB), Adam Larriva (QB), Alyn Fletcher (RB), Nick Chronsiter (WR), Will Waldrup (DL), Elliot Koester (LB),Shawn Kobylinski (DB), Ty Fallon (P)

Key Returners:

Flowing Wells: The Caballeros will look to improve with three returning All-Region players.

Xavier Zavala, Luis Corona and Alex Moya will look to carry a team that struggled last year going 1-9.

Zavala and Moya will look to sure up a defense that gave up 35+ points five times last season.

Alex Moya will be responsible for improving an offense that last year scored less than 10 points in all 9 losses.

Key Losses: Tyler Harper (RB), Alfonso Barbosa (OL), Dante Pasanti (DL), Tomas Jaimez (DB)

Key Returners: Xavier Zavala (DB), Luis Corona (LB), Alex Moya (TE)

Pueblo: The Warriors will be looking to unproven talent as they try to improve on last year's winless region record. There are some winnable games on their schedule but bottomline is they will need to score more points, they were shutout five times in 2009.

Key Losses:

Key Returners:

Sabino: Sabino will be looking for redemption after losing both matchups against CDO, the last of which was in the 4A1 State Championship game.

They will be missing many key players from last year's state title run. 3/5ths of their offensive line will be gone, all of whom were All-Region selections. They will also be missing their two workhorses at running back, Stephen Fraser and Tyler Cocci, who were both 1st Team All-Region selections a year ago.

On The defensive side of the ball it is very much the same. They will only be returning a single All-Region selection from last season, Matt Rossi (DL). Keanu Nelson, the Defensive Player of the Year, has gone as has his fellow 1st Team Defensive selections, Jake Tick (DL) Mike Poindexter (DL), David Duron (LB) and James Brindley (LB).

Offensively, they will not return a single All-Region player from last year and will have to look to Nathan Brooks at QB to lead this team back to the playoffs.

Key Losses: Keanu Nelson(DB), Jake Tick (DL), Mike Poindexter (DL), Stephen Fraser (RB), Tyler Cocci (RB), David Duron (LB), James Brindley (LB), Rhett Taylor (LB), Wes Skillings (K), Ethan Shozda (OL), Collin McBrayer (TE)

Key Returners: Matt Rossi (DL), Nathan Brooks (QB)

Coach of the Year: Dusty Peace – Canyon del Oro
Offensive Player of the Year: KaDeem Carey – RB Canyon del Oro
Defensive Player of the Year: Matt Rossi – DT Sabino

Top 5 Players

1. KaDeem Carey – RB CDO
2. Jesse Caldwell – OL/DL CDO
3. Matt Rossi – OL/DL Sabino
4. David Catalano – DT CDO
5. Bobby Henkel – RB CDO

24-7 Football Top Stories