4A1 Kino Region Preview

Cienega has plenty of firepower back, not only to make a run at the region crown again, but a deep playoff run.

4A1 Kino Region Preview


No other way to put it, Cienega is the team to beat.


1. Cienega
2. Nogales
3. Sahuaro
4. Desert View
5. Marana


Cienega: The Bobcats will be looking forward to defending their region title with quarterback Jordan Mills back at the helm. Mills accounted for accounted for 2,000 yards of offense and 24 TDs.

Add RB Willie Willis and his 1,500 yards rushing and Cienega has one of the deadliest offenses in the state.

The defense will lean heavily on linemen Daniel Boice, who was 2nd in the region in sacks in '09, and in the secondary on Lorye Broom. Those two will have to step in order to replace the six graduated defensive All-Region players from last season.

The question mark for Cienega will be their offensive line. They are losing three starting linemen as well as their tight end. Pass protection and holes in the running game might be harder to find this year.

Key Losses: Trent Simon (WR), David Necasio (TE), Seth Fowler (OL), Pat Murphy (OL), Adam Valenzuela (K), Michael Karder (OL), Jordan Christenson (DL), Andrew Palmer (LB), J.J. Gorosave (LB), Ronnie Burton (DB)

Key Returners: Willie Willis (RB), Jordan Mills (QB), Daniel Boice (DL), Lrye Broom (DB)

Desert View: The Jaguars started out last season hot winning their first four games but struggled more in region play.

They went 1-3 in region games last year with two of the losses coming by less than a touchdown.

This year they are a wild card as they have no returning players who made the All-Region Team last season. They will look for new players to replace offensive standout Chris Meraz and defensive standout Nick Cruz.

Key Losses: Chris Meraz (RB), Nick Cruz (LB), Brandon Perkins (DB), Francisco Pacheco (DL), Tom Collister (OL)

Key Returners:

Marana: The Tigers will look to rebound this year after a disappointing 2009 season that ended with five consecutive losses.

The offense struggled last season never scoring more than 21 points in a game. They will be leaning heavily on running back Louis Payne.

Payne will also be leading the team on defense after being selected as a 1st Team All-Region defensive linemen.

They lost two offensive linemen but will rely on the three returners to give Payne room to run and chances to score if they want to improve on last season's record.

Key Losses: Clay Parsons (OL), Dan Zeigler (OL), Nick Parker (K), Josh Boak (DB), Matt Susa (LB)

Key Returners: Louis Payne (RB)

Nogales: Four losses is how the Apaches started last season but then rallied going 5-2 on the rest of the season with a 3-1 record in region play.

Nogales will miss quarterback Keith Zuniga and receiver Camilio Vilegas who counted for a large part of last season's scoring. Running back Jimmy Lopez will look to do the majority of the scoring for the Apaches.

Defensively they will rely on linebacker Gilbert Duran to take charge of a defense that was inconsistent last year.

Key Losses: Keith Zuniga (QB), Camilio Vilegas (WR), David Yubeta (OL), Jason Cota (DL)

Key Returners: Jimmy Lopez (RB), Gilbert Duran (LB)

Sahuaro: The Cougars will look to return to the playoffs and make a deep run with Kevin Ackerley back at the helm.

Ackerley was selected as a 1st Team All-Region player last season and will look to improve despite the fact that he has lost 3/5 of his offensive line. Niko Kittrel should give him a big and consistent target in the passing game at tight end.

Defensively they were torn apart in their season ending loss to Cactus Shadows, giving up 63 points. They lose three All-Region selections from last year and have no All-Region defensive players coming back which means this will be the most suspect area for Sahuaro this season.

Key Losses: Drew McKeever (RB), Fernando Aguilar (WR), Deon Clash (OL), Phil Baechler (OL), Matt San Angelo (OL), Christian Moeykens (DB)

Key Returners: Kevin Ackerley (QB), Niko Kittrel (TE), Kyle Cady (P)

Coach of the Year- Nemer Hassey - Cienega
Offensive Player of the Year- Jordan Mills – QB Cienega
Defensive Player of the Year- Daniel Boice – DL Cienega

Top 3 Players

1. Jordan Mills – QB Cienega
2. Willie Willis – RB Cienega
3. Daniel Boice – DE/TE Cienega

24-7 Football Top Stories