State Baseball Coach of the Year honor goes to Justin Machado from La Costa Canyon of Carlsbad; top state baseball coaching laurels also given for medium schools and small schools

Coaches love to start programs from scratch and you can't do it much better than Justin Machado has in baseball at La Costa Canyon High of Carlsbad. In seven years since the school has fielded baseball teams, Machado's Mavericks have earned CIF San Diego Section playoff berths in all seven years. There's been five league titles and this year a magical 32-1 ride that culminated with a No. 1 state and national ranking.

For all that, Machado has been chosen as the 2003 State Coach of the Year by A complete list of recent winners follows and the full list has been in the Cal-Hi Sports Record Book & Almanac.

Machado's record in seven seasons at La Costa Canyon is 162-54-1. The 2003 season marked the program's first section title and third straight league crown.

"It was such an incredible group of seniors," Machado said following his team's last game, a dramatic 5-4 win in eight innings over Rancho Bernardo. "All the work ethic they crammed into the last three years would have to be seen to be believed."

A 1989 graduate of San Dieguito High of Encinitas (the school that basically closed and was replaced by La Costa Canyon), Machado played at Mira Mesa College and at Sonoma State before beginning his coaching career. He also teaches history at the school.

Machado's team was ranked No. 1 in the state in a close call over CIF L.A. City Section champion Chatsworth. Many times, in such circumstances, the team in the No. 2 position is rewarded with the top coaching honor. This time, though, it couldn't be done with Chatsworth coach Tom Muesborn since he was State Coach of the Year just two seasons ago and it's more important in coaching honors to spread them around as much as possible.

In addition to choosing Machado as State Coach of the Year, top honors also have been determined for medium schools and small schools baseball coaches. Those selections follow as well as an updated list of state coaches of the year going back through the years.

Medium Schools State Coach of the Year:

Scott Muckey (Crespi, Encino)

A former assistant coach at Pepperdine University, Muckey has guided the Celts since 1987 and has won eight league titles. This year's team won the CIF Southern Section Div. III championship and lost just six times. Muckey coached current major league pitcher Jeff Suppan at Crespi and next year should be working with one of the top players in the nation in Trevor Plouffe.

Small Schools State Coach of the Year:

Jeff Ingles (Winters)

Running a small school program that frequently goes up against bigger schools hasn't been that much of a problem for Ingles. This year's team at Winters won its fourth straight CIF Northern Section title and had wins over Div. I schools Will C. Wood of Vacaville, Fairfield, Folsom and Div. II school Granite Bay. Ingles has been the head coach at Winters since 1988 and his teams have won 11 league titles and nine section crowns.

All-Time State Baseball

Coaches of the Year

(All selections by

2003 -- Justin Machado (La Costa Canyon, Carlsbad)

2002 -- Dave Currie (Wilcox, Santa Clara)

2001 -- Tom Muesborn (Chatsworth)

2000 -- Harry Jenkins (West, Torrance)

1999 -- Joe Walters (Calvary Chapel, Santa Ana)

1998 -- James Patrick (Clovis)

1997 -- Dave Brunell (St. Joseph, Santa Maria)

1996 -- Dennis Pugh (Mission Bay, San Diego)

1995 -- Dave Demarest (La Quinta, Westminster)

1994 -- Ron La Ruffa (Fountain Valley)

1993 -- Mike Maio (El Camino Real, Woodland Hills)

1992 -- Dan Peters (Millikan, Long Beach)

1991 -- Jeff Meredith (Grossmont, La Mesa)

1990 -- Mickey McNamee (San Marino)

1989 -- Sam Blalock (Mt. Carmel, San Diego)

1988 -- Chris Sims (Campolindo, Moraga)

1987 -- Dan Ardissone (Bellarmine, San Jose)

1986 -- Mike Curran (Esperanza, Anaheim)

1985 -- Dave Perkins (Hanford)

1984 -- Darryl Stroh (Granada Hills)

1983 -- Larry Quirico (El Cerrito)

1982 -- Jim Garrett (Tulare)

1981 -- Guy Anderson (Cordova, Rancho Cordova)

1980 -- Mike Noakes (Bullard, Fresno)

1979 -- Jim Bachman (Covina)

1978 -- Al Endriss (Redwood, Larkspur)

1977 -- Leo Zuardo (El Camino, South San Francisco)

1976 -- John Herbold (Lakewood)

1975 -- Jack Hannah (Hoover, Fresno)

1974 -- Jim O'Brien (North, Torrance)

1973 -- John Stevenson (El Segundo)

1972 -- Hi LaValle (Dominguez, Compton)

1971 -- Denny Holt (Monroe, Sepulveda)

1970 -- Dan Bodary (Lompoc)

Note: List extends back to 1933 in Cal-Hi Sports Record Book & Almanac.

Golden State Preps Top Stories