Fall 2012 Kornblue Kicking Challenge

The 6th Annual Fall Kornblue Kicking Challenge once again featured several noteworthy prospects...

Fall 2012
Kornblue Kicking Challenge

Saturday, December 22, 2012

The 6th Annual Fall Kornblue Kicking Challenge once again featured several noteworthy kicking, punting, and long snapping performances from prospects competing to earn a spot in the Fab 50 National Rankings.  

Amoreto Curraj (Leto HS-FL) set a Kicking Challenge record with a 79 yard kickoff and earned co-Kicking Champion honors in the class of 2013. He shared the honor with Greg Joseph (American Heritage Delray HS-FL), who already has been offered by Western Kentucky.

2013 K/P Alex Knight took home overall Punting Champion honors in addition to winning the event's FG competition. Knight, who earned a state championship with St. Thomas Aquinas HS the weekend prior, nailed 12 straight FG's off the ground, including a 55 yarder.

In the 2014 class, Jorge Powell (Belen Jesuit HS-FL) earned Kicking Champion honors and Bryan Kirshe (Out of Door Academy-FL) was the Punting Champion.  Powell made 10 of his first 11 FG's, with a long of 50. Kirshe's two best punts charted 4.53/40 and 4.31/50.

Giovanni Lugo (Glades Central HS-FL) continued to showcase his triple-threat talent by earning 2015 Punting Champion honors for the 2nd consecutive Kicking Challenge event. In addition to being a varsity QB, Lugo was the first sophomore to be named a finalist for the high school version of the Lou Groza Award. Isaac Mercado (Western HS), whose older brother Abe was a starting kicker at the FCS level, earned 2015 Kicking Champion honors.

Braden Mann (Cypress-Fair HS-TX) swept the 2016 awards, earning Kicking and Punting Champion honors. Mann showed impressive strength for a freshman by putting all 5 kickoffs between 60-64 yards. His accuracy was displayed by making 8/9 FG's inside of 45 yards.

Jack Aubel (2014), another top St. Thomas Aquinas HS prospect, stood out as the event's overall top long snapper. 2013 LS Josh Dubas (Ida Baker HS-FL), 2015 LS Michael Raymond (Port Charlotte HS-FL), and 2016 LS Alex Schneider (Coral Springs Charter-FL) earned Snapping Champion honors for their respective classes.

Other 2013 top performers included Arthur Mourjan (Olympic Heights HS-FL), Daniel Bowers (Durant HS-FL), Dalton Gilson (Gaither HS-FL), and Conner Kammerlocher (S. Ft Myers HS-FL). 2014 standouts included Andrew DiRocco (University HS-FL), Blake Wilson (Boca Raton HS-FL), Preston Seiler (Cardinal Gibbons HS-FL), Eric Briggs (Fort Myers HS-FL) and Austin Iglehart (Berkeley Prep-FL). Corey Hobson (Gaither HS-FL) and Matt Danko (West Boca HS-FL) stood out in the class of 2015 and James McCourt (St Thomas Aquinas HS-FL) excelled in the class of 2016.

The next Kicking Challenge event is scheduled for June 1, 2013. For more info, visit www.KornblueKicking.com or contact Brandon Kornblue at (561)702-0203.

2013 co-Kicking ChampionAmareto Curraj (Leto HS-FL)
2013 co-Kicking Champion –
Greg Joseph (American Heritage Delray HS-FL)
2013 Punting Champion –
Alex Knight (St Thomas Aquinas HS-FL)
2013 Long Snapping Champion –
Josh Dubas (Ida Baker HS-FL)
2014 Kicking Champion –
Jorge Powell (Belen Jesuit HS-FL)
2014 Punting Champion -
Bryan Kirshe (Out of Door Academy-FL)
2014 Long Snapping Champion – Jack Aubel (St Thomas Aquinas HS-FL)
2015 Kicking Champion –
Isaac Mercado (Western HS-FL)
2015 Punting Champion – Giovanni Lugo (Glades Central HS-FL)
2015 Long Snapping Champion – Michael Raymond (Port Charlotte HS-FL)
2016 Kicking Champion – Braden Mann (Cypress-Fair HS-FL)
2016 Punting Champion – Braden Mann (Cypress-Fair HS-FL)
2016 Long Snapping Champion – Alex Schneider (Coral Springs Charter-FL)

Golden State Preps Top Stories