Kornblue Kicking & Snapping Challenge

Recapping the Spring 2014 Kornblue Kicking & Snapping Challenge...

Several top kicking, punting, and long snapping prospects competed last weekend in the Spring 2014 Kornblue Kicking & Snapping Challenge at FIU Stadium in Miami, FL.

The Fab 50's #2 nationally ranked 2015 punter Stone Wilson (Venice HS-FL) once again showed why he's Division 1 caliber by earning overall Punting Champion honors. Wilson's refined technique and consistency were on display but he doesn't lack for strength as his best punt traveled 4.51/53 yards. His best kickoff charted 4.0/68 yards. Grant Young (Evangelical Christian HS-FL) made his FG in an extra playoff round to edge out Louie Zervos (Tarpon Springs HS-FL) and earn class of 2015 Kicking Champion honors. Zervos displayed the event's strongest overall kickoffs, including a long of 3.75/76 yards.

2016 K/P James McCourt (St Thomas Aquinas HS-FL), a repeat winner, earned Kicking Champion honors with the highest point total of any grade level. One kickoff traveled 70 yards with minimal wind. He's continuing the trend of talented specialists from one of the nation's top high school programs. Matt Crissy (Cardinal Gibbons HS-FL) took home 2016 Punting Champion honors in his first Kicking Challenge event.

College transfer Ryan Rickel (Santa Barbara CC) continues to show improved numbers year after year. He's a steady combo K/P who is eligible to transfer now or after this season. Half of his punts charted over 4.5 hangtime/40+ yards. He made his first 8 FG's (from 45 & in) with a long of 50 and his best kickoff charted 3.79/66 yards.

Other 2015 top performers included Jevaunie Francis (Miami Central-FL), Corey Hobson (Gaither HS-FL), Michael Conroy (Community School-FL), Derek Wells (Durant HS-FL), Maxwell Bednarek (Marquette HS-MI), Austin Gunderson (Calvary Christian-FL), Santiago Arango (Ferguson HS-FL), Pablo Grajales (Ferguson HS-FL), Beymar Piraquive (Miami Central-FL), and Declan Rodriguez (Cardinal Gibbons HS-FL). 2016 standouts included Cameron Taylor (Palmetto Ridge HS-FL), Jerry Nunez (Naples HS-FL), John Pecaro (Boca Raton HS-FL), and Colt Flynn (Clewiston HS-FL). Nico Ramos (Ransom Everglades HS-FL), Adrian Gorrostieta (Naples HS-FL), and Alex Usry (Eagles Landing-GA) stood out in the class of 2017.

2015 LS Jake Truske (Cypress Bay HS-FL) combination of accuracy and velocity helped him to edge out 2015 LS Jared Nash (Fort Myers HS-FL) for the award as the event's Long Snapping Champion. College transfer Ricky Zebart showed D2 snapping ability.

The next Kicking Challenge event is scheduled for late December 2014. For more info, visit www.KornblueKicking.com or contact Brandon Kornblue at (561)702-0203.

2015 Kicking Champion – Grant Young (Evangelical Christian HS-FL)
2015 Punting Champion – Stone Wilson (Venice HS-FL)
2016 Kicking Champion – James McCourt (St Thomas Aquinas-FL)
2016 Punting Champion – Matt Crissy (Cardinal Gibbons HS-FL)
2017 Kicking Champion – Adrian Gorrostieta (Naples HS-FL)
2017 Punting Champion – Nico Ramos (Ransom Everglades HS-FL)
2018 Kicking Champion – Marshall Grant (Riverdale HS-FL)
2018 Punting Champion – Shane Jynella (Island Coast HS-FL)
College/JUCO Kicking Champion – Ryan Rickel (Santa Barbara CC)
College/JUCO Punting Champion – Ryan Rickel (Santa Barbara CC)
2015 Long Snapping Champion – Jake Truske (Cypress Bay HS-FL)
College/JUCO Snapping Champion – Ricky Zebart (FAU)

Golden State Preps Top Stories