CAL-HI SPORTS BAY AREA TOP 20 RANKINGS

In support of our weekly Cal-Hi Sports Bay Area TV show, here are this week's picks of the best football teams in the CIF Central Coast and CIF North Coast sections (plus Oakland and S.F.) as of September 8. Watch the next edition of this award-winning program on Sunday at 4:30 p.m. on KRON TV, Channel 4, San Francisco. Also check here for air times on FOX SPORTS NET.

FOOTBALL 2003

(After games of Saturday, Sept. 6)

(Most teams start their seasons this weekend)

(Preseason rank in parentheses)

1. (1) De La Salle (Concord) 0-0

2. (2) Foothill (Pleasanton) 0-0

3. (3) Valley Christian (San Jose) 1-0

4. (4) Palma (Salinas) 0-0

5. (5) St. Francis (Mountain View) 1-0

6. (7) Hayward 0-0

7. (8) Los Gatos 0-0

8. (9) Monte Vista (Danville) 0-0

9. (10) Serra (San Mateo) 1-0

10. (6) Skyline (Oakland) 0-1

11. (11) Pittsburg 0-0

12. (12) Bellarmine (San Jose) 0-0

13. (13) Miramonte (Orinda) 0-0

14. (14) San Leandro 0-0

15. (15) Rancho Cotate (Rohnert Park) 0-0

16. (16) James Logan (Union City) 0-0

17. (nr) Oak Grove (San Jose) 0-0

18. (18) Antioch 0-0

19. (nr) San Lorenzo Valley (Felton) 0-0

20. (17) Watsonville 0-0

Notes & Highlights

•Two teams who were in the preseason top 20 that lost in their openers last weekend were Skyline of Oakland and Leland of San Jose. Skyline still stayed among the top 20, however, since the Titans fell by 41-32 to Serra. Leland lost to Pioneer of San Jose, 21-20, and dropped out......

•We still like Watsonville in the Santa Cruz County Athletic League, but it wasn't right to put the Wildcats ahead of San Lorenzo Valley in the rankings until they actually beat them or SLV takes a loss. SLV has been the dominant program in the league in recent years and should have been the league's highest-ranked team. Consider that problem fixed......

CAL-HI SPORTS BAY AREA VIEWING SCHEDULE

ON FOX SPORTS NET BAY AREA

Friday, Sept. 12 -- 2:30 p.m.

Monday, Sept. 15 -- 6:30 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 19 -- 2 p.m.

Monday, Sept. 22 -- 6:30 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 26 -- 2:30 p.m.

Monday, Sept. 29 -- 7 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 2 -- 2 p.m.

Monday, Oct. 6 -- 7 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 10 -- 2 p.m.

Monday, Oct. 13 -- 7 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 17 -- 2 p.m.

Monday, Oct. 20 -- 7 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 24 -- 2:30 p.m.

Monday, Oct. 27 -- 7 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 30 -- 2 p.m.


Golden State Preps Top Stories