Mitty's Sherburne wins Ms. Volleyball honor

The all-time list of girls volleyball players of the year includes the likes of Tara Cross-Battle, Misty May, Kerri Walsh, Jennifer Saleaumua (last year's winner) and the Oden sisters -- Kim, Elaina and Bev. The newest name on the list is from the same school as Walsh.

Senior setter Lindsey Sherburne from Archbishop Mitty High of San Jose has been chosen as the Ms. Volleyball State Player of the Year for the 2001 season.

The three-year starter and two-time Student Sports preseason All-American selection was THE reason Mitty defeated Torrey Pines of San Diego in four games December 1 to win the state Div. I title for the first time.

Sherburne, a 5-foot-10 setter blessed with soft hands, quickness honed from years of swim training and a competitive instinct that makes her a leader on the court, dished out 50 assists to go along with 11 kills and nine digs to earn MVP honors in the state final. The senior, who sports a 4.28 GPA and full scholarship to the University of San Diego, was never more dominant than in the fourth game, where her dumps, six in all, thwarted any momentum Torrey Pines tried to generate.

"Lindsey Sherburne was the difference in every one of those games," said Torrey Pines head coach Lars Trupe. "Sherburne was absolutely incredible for the entire state championship run," Mitty head coach Brett Almazan-Cezar told the San Jose Mercury News. "She showed great leadership, great poise and great decision-making skills."

Sherburne also heads up the first team on the all-state squads. A total of 30 players overall were selected.

First Team All-State

Lindsey Sherburne 5-10 Sr. Setter Archbishop Mitty

Jessica Gysin 6-1 So. Outside Hitter St. Francis (Mountain View)

Katy Daly 6-0 Sr. Outside Hitter San Clemente

Courtney Schultz 6-2 Sr. Middle Blocker Harvard-Westlake

Olivia Waldowski 6-3 Sr. Middle Blocker Irvine

Haley Jorgensborg 5-11 Sr. Setter/Opposite Marymount

Second Team All-State

Nora Pirzynski 5-7 Sr. Setter Mira Costa

Jen Abernathy 5-10 Sr. Outside Hitter Deer Valley

Jennifer Randall 5-10 Sr. Outside Hitter Long Beach Poly

Susie Boogaard 6-2 Sr. Middle Blocker Valley Christian (Cerritos)

Michelle Kaufman 6-2 Sr. Middle Blocker Torrey Pines

Breegan Mulligan 6-0 Sr. Opposite Mater Dei

Third Team All-State

Ashley Davidson 6-0 Sr. Setter/Opposite/Middle Blocker Scripps Ranch

Amanda Fox 6-3 Jr. Outside Hitter El Molino

Cynthia Barboza 6-0 Fr. Outside Hitter Long Beach Wilson

Megan Blackshire 6-1 Sr. Middle Blocker San Clemente

Diane Copenhagen 6-2 So. Middle Blocker St. Francis

Robin Miramontes 6-1 Sr. Opposite Upland

Fourth Team All-State

Desma Stovall 6-0 Sr. Setter/Opposite El Molino

Tessa Sphar 5-10 Sr. Outside Hitter Archbishop Mitty

Sara Vercruyssen 5-10 Sr. Outside Hitter Rio Americano

Cassie Perret 6-0 Sr. Middle Blocker Woodside Priory

Whitney Pavlik 6-0 Sr. Middle Blocker Mater Dei

Cassandra Kolkka 5-11 Jr. Opposite Buchanan

Fifth Team All-State

Leann Osato 5-2 Sr. Setter Buchanan

Sarah Nadler 5-11 Sr. Outside Hitter Presentation

Andrea Fisher 6-0 Sr. Outside Hitter Poway

Alyssa Lantz 6-0 Sr. Middle Blocker Centennial (Bakersfield)

Kristina Baum 6-3 Jr. Middle Blocker La Habra

Kristina Hoban 5-9 Sr. Opposite University of San Diego High

Ms. Volleyball State Player of the Year:

Lindsey Sherburne (Archbishop Mitty, San Jose) 5-10 Sr.

State Junior Player of the Year:

Amanda Fox (El Molino, Forestville) 6-3 OH

State Sophomore Player of the Year:

Jessica Gysin (St. Francis, Mountain View) 6-1 OH

State Freshman Player of the Year:

Cynthia Barboza (Wilson, Long Beach) 6-0 OH

Golden State Preps Top Stories