Some Player of the Year picks are starting to get dicey......Big-time win for Dos Palos may set up even more history-making one year from now......Zito & Johnson make it a Cali sweep of the Cy Young Award...Plus more from the best prep notes column in the state.

•The toughest Player of the Year pick in the state this football season may be by the staff of the Contra Costa Times.
In one corner, you will probably have Danville Monte Vista's Kyle Wright, the nation's top-ranked quarterback by college recruiting types and who could possibly lead his team to an unbeaten season.
In the other, there's De La Salle running back Maurice Drew. His kick returning and his efforts against Long Beach Poly alone might be enough for him to be the pick.
Of course, if Wright and his team don't do much this week against San Ramon Valley and Wolves' QB Sam Keller steals the show, then the CCT's pick might get even more tricky.

•Dos Palos High has a terrific football tradition and last Friday's 21-7 win over Kerman has to go down as one of the biggest. The Broncos entered that game at 5-4 while Kerman was 8-1 and had climbed to No. 3 in the Div. IV state rankings.
But anytime Dos Palos has a chance to get a share of a league title, watch out. They become like hungry piranhas. The Broncos came through with a 21-7 win and in the process tied a state record for most consecutive league championships with 18.
Charles Green had 22 carries for 203 yards to lead Dos Palos, which lost one of those games a few days after one of its players, Michael Gonzales, was killed in a car crash.

•If Salinas High beats North Salinas on Friday, the Cowboys will win the Tri-County League title of the CCS and will end Palma's streak of winning league titles at 18. Palma and Dos Palos would then be tied for the state record in that category, but Dos Palos will now have the chance to take the record on its own next season. Salinas lost a game this season to Alvarez of Salinas, but Alvarez and Salinas are no longer in the same league. That's how big the DP win over Kerman was.

•Last week's announcements of the Cy Young Award, one of the highest honors in baseball, to Barry Zito and Randy Johnson also meant a sweep for California. Zito won the American League honor after a sterling season for the Oakland Athletics. Johnson was once again dominant in the American League for the Arizona Diamondbacks. Zito is from University of San Diego, while Johnson is from Livermore. It's only the third time that California has swept the Cy Young awards.
The first two were for 1967 when Jim Lonborg (San Luis Obispo) won for the Boston Red Sox and Mike McCormick (Alhambra Keppel) won for the San Francisco Giants. The second was in 1989 when Bret Saberhagen (Reseda Cleveland) won for the Kansas City Royals and Mark Davis (Livermore) won for the San Diego Padres.

•Football coach Ed Burke from Torrey Pines of San Diego only needs one more win to reach No. 200 for his career. Two coaches in the state this season have already achieved the No. 200 milestone win -- Mike Wunderley from Valley Christian of Cerritos and Bill Craven from Pacifica of Garden Grove.
Some have noticed that the list we published last week as a tribute to Woodlake's Leo Robinson (who died on Nov. 3) stopped at 220 and wondered how many are on it from between No. 200 to No. 220. Unfortunately, we don't have enough info to come up with a list of that depth. Our best guess is that Burke will be between the 45th and 50th coach in state history to reach 200 wins.

•Others that we know for sure would be between 200 and 220 career wins would include Wunderley, Craven and the following: John Barnes (Los Alamitos); Dick Hill (mostly Santa Ana); Tom Zunino (Vacaville); Ed Lloyd (mostly Santa Rosa Cardinal Newman); Dan Shaughnessy (Berkeley St. Mary's); Bob Reid (Anderson); Frank Negri (Sacramento Foothill); Jim Ingram (Fremont Washington); Dwight "Goldie" Griffith (Bakersfield); and Herb Hill (mostly at Anaheim Loara). Be sure to e-mail us or give us a call if there's somebody we didn't mention.

•At the seeding meeting for the CIF Central Section football playoffs it was revealed that a previously reported 7-0 overtime win for Buchanan of Clovis over Clovis West has now been counted as a 0-0 tie.
The significance of that not only helped Clovis West gain an at-large berth into the Yosemite Division Large field at 4-5-1 but also helps Yosemite Division Small favorite Sanger.
If the Apaches run the table, win their title and end the season with just one loss, it will now be much more difficult to rank the Yosemite Division Large champion ahead of them. All of the favorites in that division have two losses and Buchanan now has a loss and a tie. Sanger also has a win over Clovis East, so if those two wind up as the Yosemite Division champs the pick of Sanger as the section's No. 1 overall team is a slam dunk.

•Two JV football players were injured in a hazing incident at Burbank High of Sacramento that was so distasteful that the principal decided to forfeit the varsity team's last game of the season. The Titans were scheduled to play Casa Roble of Orangevale last Saturday, but took a forfeit loss instead.
Principal Bob Sandoval and co-coaches John Heffernan and Steve Hammer made the call primarily because 17 players could have prevented the incident. According to the Sacramento Bee, the two JV players were pulled into a locker room where they were punched and kicked. Two of the varsity players who primarily participated have been suspended.
"It was a situation I'm sure that probably started out as fun or funny," Sandoval told the Bee. "It certainly didn't end up that way. Whatever it was, we don't condone it or accept it."

Golden State Preps Top Stories