2010 Brooke Welch Memorial All-Tourney Team

Ridgeland High School hosted the 5th Annual Brooke Welch Memorial Tournament December 3-4, 2010 at Shiloh Park in Brandon, MS.

This tournament is played in honor and remembrance of Brooke Welch, a former central midfielder for Ridgeland High School who died in a tragic four-wheeler accident her senior year of high school. Brooke won three state championships with Ridgeland and was an integral member of the team, having been named captain her senior year.

Mississippi Sports Talk was pleased to offer its assistance in selecting an All-Tournament team this year for both the girl's and boy's teams. Due to GIT conflicts this year, it was difficult to select an entire squad on the boys side; however, much effort went into the selections. The criteria for selection relied heavily on overall performance, not merely stats.

Special thanks to Craig Winship and to those that contributed to this list their help and assistance, and especially to those schools that participated in making this tournament a success.

Tyler Poe (Pearl)- 0 goals allowed
Max Martin (St. Andrews)- 1 goal allowed

Philip Hicks (Jesuit)- 0 goals allowed, 1 goal scored
Billy Greene (Pearl)- 0 goals allowed
Alex Cosmich (Madison St. Joseph)

Chase Ming (Pearl)- 2 goals
Steven Cabos (Jesuit)- 2 goals, 1 assist
David Bertucci (Gulfport)- no official stats reported
Marcus Renner (Warren Central)- 2 goals, 1 assist
Cade Hoerner (Jesuit)- 2 assists

Erik Chappel (Warren Central)- 8 goals, 2 assists
Sam Grace (Jesuit)- 2 goals, 1 assist
Charles Mansour (Jesuit)- 5 goals
Dan Zehr (St Andrews)- 1 goal

Player of the Tournament: Erik Chappel (Warren Central)

Miss Sports Talk Top Stories