Leesville Road takes team crown in 4-A golf

PINEHURST— Ben Griffin of East Chapel Hill won a dramatic playoff with Greenville Rose's Andrew Decker on Tuesday to take the individual championship in the 75th annual North Carolina High School Athletic Association state 4-A men's golf championships at Pinehurst number six.

Griffin won it on the second playoff hole, chipping in to save par on a par four, after the two had finished deadlocked in the regulation 36 holes with 137 totals, five under par.

Andrew Klassing of Charlotte Ardrey Kell was third in the individual standings with a 140. Defending champ Grayson Murray of Raleigh Leesville Road was one of three golfers in a tie for fourth at even par 142, but Carter Jenkins of Leesville won on the first playoff hole to take the fourth spot over Murray and Philip Oweida of Charlotte Myers Park.

The championship was held on a par-71 layout set at 6,537 yards or the NCHSAA event.

Leesville Road held on to capture the team championship with a 292 score on Tuesday for a 577 total, four shots ahead of Myers Park. Ardrey Kell was third with a 593, followed by Raleigh Wakefield and Cary Green Hope. Six of the 12 teams in the field broke 600.

Green Hope had won the 4-A team title four times in the last five years. The best four of six individual scores count toward the team total.

Prior to 1986, all NCHSAA schools competed for a single title in an open tournament. Play went to three classifications in 1986 and then to four classes beginning with the 1998 tournaments.

A total of 84 golfers began play in the two-day tournament. Wendy's is the presenting sponsor of the NCHSAA sports program.

Discuss the 2011 NCHSAA Men's Golf Championships

Prep NC Top Stories