NCADA Names 13th Hall Of Fame Class

Three members have been named by the North Carolina Athletic Directors Association as the 13th class for induction in its own Hall of Fame.

The new NCADA Hall of Famers include Ralph Holloway of Morehead City, Harold Robinson of Williamston and Doyle Whitfield of Dudley. The three will be recognized at the annual North Carolina Athletic Directors Association state conference at the Wilmington Hilton Riverside with the Hall of Fame banquet scheduled for March 27.

The NCADA Hall of Fame has been established to recognize achievement and excellence for athletic administration. The inductees are honored at the NCADA's annual state convention, and a permanent display honoring the athletic directors' Hall of Fame is located in the offices of the North Carolina High School Athletic Association in Chapel Hill. The new class brings to 58 the number in the Hall.

This year's inductees include:

Ralph Holloway

A graduate of Elizabeth City State University, Ralph Holloway had an outstanding career in athletic administration before moving into his current role as principal.

Ralph has been the principal at East Carteret since 2001 and prior to that served three years as athletic director at West Carteret. He came to Carteret County after a successful stint at Kinston where he had served as both head football coach and athletic director. He also coached and taught Burlington Cummings for six years.

An National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (NIAAA) Certified Athletic Administrator, Holloway served a term on the NCHSAA Board of Directors and was president of the Association during 2004-05.

He was inducted into the Palmetto (SC) High School Athletic Hall of Fame as a football player and is in the Cummings High School Athletic Hall of Fame as a coach.

Ralph also has been named Athletic Director of the Year by both the NCHSAA and the NCADA.

Harold Robinson

Harold Robinson was one of the state's most successful high school head football coaches and athletic directors before moving into the collegiate ranks.

A graduate of Washington High School and East Carolina University, Robinson has been at ECU since 2004 in a role with ECU football that includes Director of High School Relations. Prior to that, though, Robinson was athletic director and head football coach at Williamston for 25 years, compiling an overall mark of 239-89 and winning two NCHSAA state championships.

An NIAAA Certified Athletic Administrator, Robinson served on the Boards of Directors of the NCADA and the North Carolina Coaches Association. He was president of the N.C. Coaches Association and also had a stint as president of the North Carolina Football Coaches Association.

Doyle Whitfield

Doyle Whitfield has been an excellent head baseball coach and athletic director throughout his career, which includes 30 years at Southern Wayne High School.

Whitfield's baseball record at Southern Wayne includes over 400 victories and a 1985 NCHSAA state 4-A championship to go with four conference titles and six baseball coach of the year awards. He served as athletic director at Southern Wayne for 20 years. The athletic complex at his school has been named in his honor.

He has received many honors from the NCHSAA and has served on the nominating committee for the NCHSAA Board of Directors. He is also in the American Legion Baseball Hall of Fame.

Honorees in the charter class, inducted in 1995, included NCHSAA executive director Charlie Adams, former Charlotte-Mecklenburg director of athletics Dave Harris, Russ Blunt of Durham's Hillside High School, long-time Greenville Rose athletic director and NCADA executive secretary Richard "Bud" Phillips; former High Point athletic administrator A.J. "Tony" Simeon, and Norma Harbin of Winston-Salem, the first female athletic director at a 4-A school in North Carolina.

Willie Bradshaw of Durham, Mike Brown of Wilmington, Jack Groce of Boone, Red Hoffman of Wilkesboro, Leon Brogden of Wilmington and Homer Thompson of Winston-Salem joined the Hall in 1996. The 1997 inductees included Ruth Pool of Durham, Bill Eutsler of Rockingham, Shu Carlton of Gastonia, Gilbert Ferrell of Wilson and Thell Overman of Wallace, while in ‘98 the Hall welcomed Jim Blake of Durham, Wat Holyfield of Raleigh, Carroll King of Raleigh, Benny Pearce of Fayetteville, Jerry McGee of Elizabeth City and Dudley Whitley of Rocky Mount.

The 1999 inductees were Dave Johnson of Charlotte, Glenn Nixon of Clayton, Bob Sawyer of Greensboro and George Whitfield of Greenville, while in 2000 Don Patrick of Newton-Conover, Bill Carver of Fayetteville and Simon Terrell of Chapel Hill joined the Hall.

The 2001 inductees included Carl Bolick of Charlotte, Herman Bryson of Winston-Salem, Ed Peeler of Shelby and Chip Gill of Durham. The 2002 honorees were Dick Knox of Chapel Hill, Jack Musten of Winston-Salem, Don Saine of Gastonia and Sue Shinn of High Point.

In 2002 Tim Brayboy of Cary, Hilda Worthington of Farmville, Roger Thrift of New Bern, Spike Corbin of Wilmington and Richard Murray of Ahoskie were inducted. The 2003 honorees included Mac Cumbo of East Flat Rock, Boyce Dietz of Bryson City, Roger Dixon currently of Myrtle Beach, SC., Debbie Jones of Charlotte and Jim Hayes of Charlotte. The 2004 induction class included Alton "Tunney" Brooks of Lumberton, Paul Gay of Sanford, Joel Long of Raleigh and Dave Thomas of Goldsboro.

Last year's honorees were Cheryl Brewer of North Moore and Mac Morris and Phil Weaver of the North Carolina Coaches' Association in Greensboro.

Prep NC Top Stories