Naismith Award Finalists Announced

On Tuesday, the finalists for the 2004 Naismith Prep Basketball Player of the Year Award were announced. The finalists included 10 boys and 10 girls, and the two winners will be honored on April 9 in Atlanta. <br>

The 20 finalists were selected by the Naismith Prep Awards Selection Committee, which is comprised of a collection of basketball coaches, journalists and administrators.

Here are the finalists, listed in alphabetical order:


LaMarcus Aldridge
Seagoville High (Dallas, Texas)

Rudy Gay
Archbishop Spalding High (Severn, Md.)

Dwight Howard
Southwest Atlanta Christian (Atlanta, Ga.)

Al Jefferson
Prentiss High (Prentiss, Miss.)

Shaun Livingston
Peoria Central High (Peoria, Ill.)

Randolph Morris
Landmark Christian Academy (Fairburn, Ga.)

Josh Smith
Oak Hill Academy (Mouth of Wilson, Va.)

Robert Swift
Bakersfield High (Bakersfield, Calif.)

Sebastian Telfair
Lincoln High (Brooklyn, N.Y.)

Marvin Williams
Bremerton High (Bremerton, Wash.)


Erika Arriaran
Norco High (Norco, Calif.)

Chante Black
East Forsyth High (Kernersville, N.C.)

Sylvia Fowles
Gulliver Prep (Miami, Fla.)

Alexis Hornbuckle
South Charleston High (Charleston, W.Va.)

Charde Houston
San Diego High (San Diego, Calif.)

Tasha Humphrey
Gainesville High (Gainesville, Ga.)

Crystal Langhorne
Willingboro High (Willingboro, N.J.)

Courtney Paris
Piedmont Hills High (Piedmont, Calif.)

Candace Parker
Naperville Central High (Naperville, Ill.)

Sa'de Wiley-Gatewood
Lynnwood High (Lynwood, Calif.)

Prep Insiders Top Stories