Capital Classic Coaches Announced

<b>Stu Vetter</b> of <b>Montrose Christian School (Md.)</b> and <b>Mark White</b> of <b>Renaissance High School (Mich.)</b> were named as the national coaches for the Jordan Capital Classic on April 17.

The Jordan Capital Classic today announced the national and regional game coaches for the 31st annual basketball event, set to take place on April 17 at the University of Maryland's Comcast Center.

The head coach of the White jerseys in the national game will be Stu Vetter of Montrose Christian School (Rockville, Md.). Vetter's Montrose Christian team won its final 20 games of the season and finished 25-4 for the season. In his 27 years as a head coach, Vetter has compiled an impressive record of 651-80. He is also a two-time coach of the Capital All-Stars (1986, 1992) and two-time USA Today Coach of the Year (1986, 1998). Vetter's assistants are Jimmy Adams of Raleigh-Egypt High School (Memphis, Tenn.) and Bob Wonson of Shaker Heights High School (Ohio).

Mark White of Renaissance High School (Detroit, Mich.) will coach the national game's Black jerseys. White's Renaissance team is a perfect 24-0 this season and is ranked No. 2 in the most recent Top 25 national rankings. White has compiled an impressive record of 120-25 in his six years at Renaissance. White's assistants are Terry Tippett of No. 14 ranked White Station High School (39-2) in Memphis, Tenn. and Bernard Griffith of St. Augustine High School (New Orleans, La.).

The regional game head coaches are Levi Franklin of Paul VI Catholic High School (20-9) in Fairfax, Va. and Keith Adams (24-4) of Springbrook High School in Silver Spring, Md. In 13 seasons as a head coach, Franklin has amassed a record of 222-89 and recently led the Panthers to three straight 19-plus win seasons. In just two years at Springbrook, Adams has compiled a 42-10 record and led the Blue Devils to a 4A/3A West division championship in 2003 and to the Maryland state 4A finals in 2004.

Over the years, the Capital Classic has featured such prominent coaches as Morgan Wootten of DeMatha Catholic High School (Hyattsville, Md.), Jack Curran of Archbishop Molloy (Jamaica, N.Y.), Bob Hurley, Sr. of St. Anthony's (Jersey City, N.J.), Gary McKnight of Mater Dei High School (Santa Ana, Calif.), Dick Myers of Gonzaga College High School (Washington, D.C.) and Steve Smith of Oak Hill Academy (Mouth of Wilson, Va.).

The list of participants expected to appear in the national game includes Lincoln High's (N.Y.) Sebastian Telfair, Southwest Atlanta Christian's (Ga.) Dwight Howard, Archbishop Spalding's (Md.) Rudy Gay, Prentiss High's (Miss.) Al Jefferson, Renaissance High's (Mich.) Malik Hairston and Joe Crawford, Hargrave Military Academy (Va.) Isaiah Swann, Seagoville High's (Texas) LaMarcus Aldridge, Taft High's (Calif.) Jordan Farmar, Hillcrest High's (Ala.) D.J. White, Marlboro County High's (S.C.) Ra'Sean Dickey, Portland High's (Tenn.) Corey Brewer, Amityville High's (N.Y.) A.J. Price, Jesse H. Jones High's (Texas) Daniel Gibson, Bridgton Academy's (Maine) Robert Vaden, Florida Air Academy's (Fla.) Alexander Kaun, Dr. Phillips High's (Fla.) Jason Rich, Rice High's (N.Y.) Russell Robinson and Oak Hill Academy's (Va.) Josh Smith, Rajon Rondo and Brian Johnson.

Notable names not on the list of participants include Top 10 recruits Shaun Livingston of Peoria Central High (Ill.), Marvin Williams of Bremerton High (Wash.) and Robert Swift of Bakersfield High (Calif.). All three players are slated to appear in both the EA Sports Roundball Classic (March 24 in Chicago) and the McDonald's All-American Game (March 31 in Oklahoma City). NCAA rules prohibit prep players from playing in more than two postseason all-star games.

Interestingly, Josh Smith, Sebastian Telfair and Dwight Howard appear on the rosters for all three postseason all-star games, which may indicate their intentions to enter this summer's NBA Draft.

Over the past 30 years, the Jordan Capital Classic has included appearances by Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Moses Malone, Jason Kidd, Grant Hill, Elton Brand, Amare Stoudemire, Carmelo Anthony and Patrick Ewing and current NCAA stars Rashad McCants (North Carolina), Sean May (North Carolina), Bracey Wright (Indiana), John Gilchrist (Maryland), Dee Brown (Indiana), J.J. Redick (Duke) Jarrett Jack (Georgia Teach) and Hassan Adams (Arizona).

Last year's Jordan Capital Classic National All-Star Game included current stars such as NBA Rookie-of-the-Year candidate LeBron James, as well as NCAA standouts Chris Paul (Wake Forest), J.R. Giddens (Kansas), Kris Humphries (Minnesota), Shannon Brown (Michigan State) Linas Kleiza (Missouri) and Ekene Ibekwe (Maryland).

Prep Insiders Top Stories