AM General Mr. Football Award Finalists!

The list of finalists for this year's AM General Mr. Football Awards is here!

Nashville, Tennessee, November 8, 2006 " The American General Mr. Football ® Awards will be presented to the top 14 backs and linemen in seven classifications of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association on Monday, November 27, 2006, at the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center.

For the fifth consecutive year, the top kicker in the state will be recognized with an American General Mr. Football ® Award. There are three finalists in this category, regardless of their school's classification.

A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2006 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists.

This is the twenty-second year that the American General Mr. Football ® Awards have been presented to Tennessee's best high school football players. American General has been the sole sponsor of this event since the inception of these awards in 1985. Plaques will be presented to 30 other finalists.

More than 500 people, including the honorees, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, are expected to attend the 2006 luncheon.

2006 American General Mr. Football Finalists

1A Lineman
Brandon Davis, Coalfield
Wade Mitchell, Friendship Christian
Cole Trim, Fayette Academy

2A Lineman
Chris Donald, Huntingdon
Mark Fisher, Goodpasture
Rae Sykes, Alcoa

3A Lineman
J.T. Beasley, Dyersburg
T.J. Franklin, Knoxville Catholic
Alex Watkins, Haywood

4A Lineman
Aaron Douglas, Maryville
Cory Hall, Brainerd
Thomas Majors, Maplewood

5A Lineman
Dasmine Cathey, Ridgeway
Eugene Goree, Riverdale
Chris Marve, White Station

DII A/AA Lineman
Eric Davis, Davidson Academy
A.J. Kirby-Jones, Knoxville Webb
Jay Wilson, Pope John Paul II

DII AAA Lineman
A.J. Greene, Brentwood Academy
John Stokes, MUS
Chris Walker, Christian Brothers

Kicker of the Year
Josh Jasper, Ridgeway
Corbin Jones, Waverly
Logan O'Connor, Knoxville Halls

1A Back
Marco Dailey, Mt. Pleasant
Chad Jordan, Hollow Rock-Bruceton Central
Seth Skogen, Temple

2A Back
Adrian Donald, Humboldt
Josh Hawkins, Loudon
Chris Shiverdecker, Alcoa

3A Back
Dennis Rogan, Fulton
Harrison Smith, Knoxville Catholic
Randall Toney, Station Camp

4A Back
Cass Barnes, Tullahoma
Terrence Holt, Maplewood
Tyler Maples, Maryville

5A Back
Aaron Crawford, Ridgeway
Andre Sterling, Farragut
Scott Thomas, Riverdale

Adam Currie, Evangelical Christian
Golden Tate, Pope John Paul II
Josh Williams, Davidson Academy

B.J. Coleman, McCallie
Kevin Cooper, Baylor
John Michael Skinner, Christian Brothers

Prep Tennessee Top Stories