2007 Team Insider – Stratford Spartans

Check out our Team Insiders! Here you will find in-Depth information about each team in the state of Texas - more information than you will find out anywhere in the state. Live, local - and about your team. Today, we feature 19-5A team Stratford. This content is exclusive for Insider Premium Members only.

A 10-2 finish in 2006 that ended at Reliant Stadium in the area playoff round is all that Stratford needs for inspiration going into to next season. The Spartans will return five starters for their upcoming 2007 season.

On offense the Spartans will return with two players of the five, that includes All-American quarterback Andrew Luck who is back for his senior campaign. Last season, Luck passed for 2,909 yards and 27 touchdowns. He also rushed for another 700 yards.

With the graduation of receiver John Sorsby, Luck will likely look to BJ Griffin to be his primary playmaker. Griffin had 16 receptions for 357 yards as a junior. Receivers Grant Posey, Cameron Mulikin, and Daniel James are the other targets in rotation.

Running back Tim Graves returns after getting some touches as a sophomore, but look for Chandrick Bennifield to also be in mix. On the front line, top offensive linemen Brian Hines, Will Swenson, Graham Gibson, and Miles Flanagan will provide the necessary protection for Luck to operate.

Lining up the 3-4 defense, the Spartans bring back three defending starters from last year. Defensive lineman Jimmy Burge (65 tackles, sack) leads the Spartan defensive attack. Jonathan O'Neal, Graham Gipson, and newcomers Terrance Lloyd and Corbin Harrell will line up alongside Burge on the front line.

Linebacker Charlie Jackson (28 tackles, 7 TFLs), according to coach Eliot Allen, is poised for a good year. Ben Brethauer, Brian Ford, and Kelley Jernigan are the Spartans' other ‘backers. In the secondary safeties Trevor Grall (29 tackles, INT) and Christian Tekell (33 tackles) return, along with cornerback Drew Crawford.

The Spartans will utilize the speed of Rodney Anderson and Josey for returns on special teams. Sam McMullen will be the kicker.

The Old Coach Top Stories