2007 Team Insider – New Caney Eagles

Check out our Team Insiders! Here you will find in-Depth information about each team in the state of Texas - more information than you will find out anywhere in the state. Live, local - and about your team. Today, we feature 21-4A team New Caney. This content is exclusive for Insider Premium Members only.

With a new coach usually brings a new attitude and that may be what is going on in New Caney. Coach Russell Roberts left Wharton and joined the Eagle organization in late May. Roberts will start his inaugural season with 13 starters from last year's team.

The strength of the eagles begins up front and offensive lineman Ryan Poston leads the trench crew. Poston, who Roberts feels has All-State potential, will line up next to Brandon Rodriguez, Johnhenry Aaron, Nathan Burkhalter, Jared Lynch, and Zach Martinez. 

These fellows will provide the protection for sophomore quarterback Jeremy Dickey to operate. Dickey will likely use Jordan Golden as his primary target. Golden had a strong showing his junior season. Also look for Chris Lopez, Travis Harper, Tony Miller and newcomer Joey Hibner to be in the receiver rotation. In the backfield, Kyle Olivo and Chad Jackson will tote the load. 

Defensively, Daniel Mena leads the Eagle D-linemen. Josh Hernandez, Camilu Zavala, and Chad Keasling are the other returnees. At the linebacker position, Justin Kramer and Zach Barfield are the starters. The defensive backs will be: Buddy Rios, Brian Wilke, Michael Beckler, and Harper. 

Finishing 4-6 is not something New Caney is not used to since the early 90s, and this year things should change. The size of the offensive and defensive line will help the Eagles' chances of reaching the postseason. Skilled positions may be a question mark, but New Caney has a tradition of finding ways to be successful.

The Old Coach Top Stories