O'Dea makes it two-in-a-row

The O'Dea Irish made it two Class 3A state championships in a row, topping the Mark Morris Monarchs 60-48 for the big gold ball in the Tacoma Dome Saturday night.

Senior forward Conor Mullen, who signed with Cornell University in November, scored 14 points and grabbed nine rebounds and was named tournament MVP while Stanford-bound point guard Mitch Johnson lit it up for 21 points and sophomore guard Jameel McMillian tacked on 10 points with 4 assists.

O'Dea used an 11-6 run in the fourth quarter to put it away. They had trailed 24-22 at the half.

Mark Morris got 16 points from Northern Arizona signee Josh Wilson while fellow senior Chris Hutton added 11. They finished the season with a 24-4 mark.

Columbia River took third place with a 65-57 overtime win over Rainier Beach. Senior forward Sean Price went off for 35 points, hitting 12 of 13 shots from the field.6-10 senior Zack Moritz added 11 points. Junior guard Ryan Anderson scored 23 and Terrence Williams had 18 in the loss. This is Columbia River's highest placing at state.

West Valley (Spokane took fourth place with a 78-54 win over Sedro-Woolley. 6-6 junior guard E.J. Richardson scored 27. Arton Toussaint and Rashad Toussaint added 13 points each while Tyler Hobbs chipped in with 12. Adam Wardell scored 19 and Tygue Howland added 17 for the Cubs. Sedro-Woolley got their first trophy in school history.

Squalicum beat Hanford 61-58 for fifth place. Senior guard Dustin Jones hit 7 treys enroute to 27 points, the last one with 2.2 ticks left to win it. Admir Beribak and Tyler Cathey had 17 each for the Falcons.

Evergreen State Preps Top Stories